Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy - substituted a slow cooker for the stovetop . Cooked on high for 4 hours and switched to low for last hour. Added chopped ham along with one additional ham hock. Used additional cup of water. This was the first time I ever cooked black eyed peas but not my last
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Hellstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Great. I made this for the new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Amazing! Used low sodium chicken broth instead of water. Omitted salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I needed almost 3x the water the recipe called for, and I should have cooked this all day in a slow cooker, since 1.5 hrs isn't long enough to break down the ham hocks. The resulting meat was really rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
We live in NW Washington, but my husband grew up with southern cooking. I had smoked ham hocks that we needed to use up from the freezer and he hates split pea soup, so I thought I'd try this recipe. He LOVED it! He said it was "real comfort food" and reminded him of the way his grandma used to make it. He put ketchup on it :-P and pronounced it a keeper. The only change I made was to cook the beans for about 1/2 hour, drain them then cover with fresh water, bring to a boil and finish cooking. I also used two bay leaves instead of one for more flavor. Our kids liked it, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Simple and tasty. Used this recipe for New Year's Day 2013. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was so good! I had this with some southern friends on New Year's Eve many years ago, and thought I would try it myself. I had some left over ham from an early Easter dinner instead of hamhocks, so I started off boiling the beans in some ham stock and got them going before adding the ham. I did add some vinegar based hot sauce after reading some of the reviews. I really wish I had some cornbread to make this meal complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent will never eat canned black eyed peas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good, did not use a bay leaf. I cooked the ham hocks in chicken broth and then strained out ham hocks and added ham, potatos, black-eyed peas. Broth was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a very good recipe it was a flavorful dish though i added 2 tsps of sugar i really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States