Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was great. Originally from MI it was not a yearly tradition to have black-eyed peas. I had no idea how tasty they are. My advice on this recipe is to keep this simple. I now know, I love the taste of black eyed peas so I didn't tweak this at all. The last time I made this, I doubled the recipe used a ham bone from a spiral cut ham. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as listed. Just cooked everything all together, nothing extra to do! I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle womack
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yummm!! Made these for New Years Day 2010. I used 3 smallish ham hocks, 1 whole onion chopped, and about 6 cups of water with about a tablespoon of chicken base. Lot's of black pepper. Cooked on HI in the crockpot for about 2 hours then turned down to low for about 5 more. Served with cornbread. Perfect good luck meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I am from the deep south and on New Years day it is black eye peas,rice,steamed cabbage and go ole fried chicken. I ususally cook the dry black eye peas unless I am in the south to get some fresh ones during the summer and freeze,HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I increased the water to 8-9 cups,added minced onion and garlic powder and 1/4 -1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. served with vinigared pepper juice. Excellent. Many requests to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great way to flovor the peas with the ham hocks and also add a pat of butter, a dash of hot sauce, and a teaspoon of sugar. The only way people from the south eat this is with...stewed tomatoes...yummy and oh so good! Try this and you will have this dish more than once a year. Happy New Year. Lisa and Mark in Virginia Beach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made this in the slow cooker (7 hours on low). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Made this tonight. I read the reviews and made a few changes and saved them in a custom recipe file. This is what I added and the quantities: 8 cups water 1 pound dry black-eyed peas 1 1/2 pound smoked ham shanks salt to taste 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 2 bay leaves 1 medium onion minced 2 cloves garlic minced 1 tsp of Cajun spice 2 carrots chopped 2 Tbs cooking oil 1/4 tsp Tabasco sauce Cooked for about 3 hours. It tasted so good! Went along great with the cornbread made from this site. I'll be making this for sure on New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
In my opinion, the only thing wrong with this recipe is the amount of water and cook time. I have a similar recipe from a trusted cookbook that calls for using dried beans (unsoaked)but to cook for 2 1/2 hours (a whole hour longer) AND calls for 1 1/2 quarts of water. YOu can soak if you want to cook for shorter period of time, BUT the whole point of cooking a long time is to give the pork flavor and salt a chance to penetrate the beans. I would not recommend waiting until the beans are almost cooked to add the meat (like one reviewer said she was going to do) b/c the beans will likely be flavorless; the meat may taste better but the beans and broth will be flavorless. I think the rice thing comes more from the Louisiana area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
For faster cooking time, I do mine in the pressure cooker, with lots of water. If it's for New Year's Day, I prefer using the traditional Smoked Hog Jowls, if I can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States