Black and White Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Great cookies with good chocolate flavor. To slice, I used thread - wrap a length of thread around the roll, cross the ends, and just pull together - it slices the dough really neatly, and doesn't squish the cookies out of shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I was able to make these perfectly - though they did end up in silly shapes. - i give them a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
THESE CAME OUT PERFECT AND WAS VERY PRETTY. I PRESENTED THEM ON A PLATTER WITH NEOPOLITAN COOKIES AND THEY ALL SOLD LIKE HOTCAKES! LOOKS A BIT COMPLEX, BUT WASN'T. THANK YOU FOR A REAL GOOD KEEPER! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
a good simple cookie that looks everything but simple i am 21 and a "new baker" just married and a two year old daughter i think this cookie will become a new holiday tradition for us thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I always read the reviews before i use on of the recipes here. I followed the recipe exact for the most part. I used only half of the amount of chocolate and instead of leaving one half plain i mixed melted white chocolate in with it. The chocolate was a little thinner than the white chocolate so i rolled the white chocolate layer out and then spread the chocolate overtop and then rolled into a tube. After about 15 mins in the fridge they were ready to cut. And they baked perfectly. So to all those who said chocolate makes it too brittle you have to cut them right away.... they are not overnight cookies if they were they would say black and white overnight cookies. Everyone loved these cookies they didn't even make it to the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchmummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
My cookies turned out tasting and looking great. They made for a very nice presentation. I noticed that the dough is perfect to slice when it has been in the fridge for about 20 min.. no more. The chocolate dough starts to harden too much and crack off if chilled too much. I was very happy with the outcome. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
A bit fiddley to make but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Decent recipe of an old time favorite. I like the melted choc. chips for the rich chocolate flavor. Dough was not too difficult to work with when chilled enough. For the 1/2 cup butter I did...1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening for a softer cookie. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I loved these cookies, and so did my guests! To resolve the 'sticky dough' issue, I rolled each half of the dough in between 2 sheets of parchment paper to the desired thinness, then peeled one side of the parchment paper off, carefully layered the chocolate and white dough halves together.. and rolled my pinwheels out! This is already a holiday tradition for me! Thumbs up, and thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Wow! Some people just don't understand that pinwheel cookies are not the easiest things to make... I do think that if you have time, and put some effort into it, these can be the most amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States