Black and White Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Great cookies with good chocolate flavor. To slice, I used thread - wrap a length of thread around the roll, cross the ends, and just pull together - it slices the dough really neatly, and doesn't squish the cookies out of shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
good concept. but let me ask you something, if you chill melted chocolate, what happens? oh, it turns into chocolate again. if you make this recipe, please substitute cocoa for the chips. if chips are used, the chocolate layer is far too brittle to roll and bakes too slowly in comparison to the white layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
My cookies turned out tasting and looking great. They made for a very nice presentation. I noticed that the dough is perfect to slice when it has been in the fridge for about 20 min.. no more. The chocolate dough starts to harden too much and crack off if chilled too much. I was very happy with the outcome. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I was able to make these perfectly - though they did end up in silly shapes. - i give them a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Wow! Some people just don't understand that pinwheel cookies are not the easiest things to make... I do think that if you have time, and put some effort into it, these can be the most amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
THESE CAME OUT PERFECT AND WAS VERY PRETTY. I PRESENTED THEM ON A PLATTER WITH NEOPOLITAN COOKIES AND THEY ALL SOLD LIKE HOTCAKES! LOOKS A BIT COMPLEX, BUT WASN'T. THANK YOU FOR A REAL GOOD KEEPER! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I always read the reviews before i use on of the recipes here. I followed the recipe exact for the most part. I used only half of the amount of chocolate and instead of leaving one half plain i mixed melted white chocolate in with it. The chocolate was a little thinner than the white chocolate so i rolled the white chocolate layer out and then spread the chocolate overtop and then rolled into a tube. After about 15 mins in the fridge they were ready to cut. And they baked perfectly. So to all those who said chocolate makes it too brittle you have to cut them right away.... they are not overnight cookies if they were they would say black and white overnight cookies. Everyone loved these cookies they didn't even make it to the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchmummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
A bit fiddley to make but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by josieflo
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I love these cookies. I ate a lot of them before my brother could get to these. The difficult part is getting the two parts even. I prefer to use less chocolate chips to help with the flexibility of the dough. But these always turn out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josieflo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHURL99
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I am a cookie maker extraordinaire, but had never made pinwheels when my granddaughter asked me to make cookies with her. She wanted half vanilla and half chocolate, so we started on these. first it took ALL day. Second, they were great. the shortbread recipe is perfect. I had the same problems the others here had, the vanilla side is too soft and the chocolate is too hard. I think cocoa would remedy this. We also use silicone baking sheets instead of wax paper and this helped a lot. My suggestions are: don't divide the dough exactly in half, when you add the chocolate chips, you are adding volume so you'll need to separate out a little bit more vanilla so they will come out equal in the end. Don't worry about how they look before you cook them, they might not look like perfect pinwheels, but, cooked they will turn out fine as my picture show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States