Black and White Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
a good simple cookie that looks everything but simple i am 21 and a "new baker" just married and a two year old daughter i think this cookie will become a new holiday tradition for us thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
My cookies turned out tasting and looking great. They made for a very nice presentation. I noticed that the dough is perfect to slice when it has been in the fridge for about 20 min.. no more. The chocolate dough starts to harden too much and crack off if chilled too much. I was very happy with the outcome. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I've done this kind of two-toned, two-flavored fridge cookie before, so I knew making these would take a little more effort than usual. Part of the extra effort is having to melt chocolate rather than using cocoa, but that's also the recipe's saving grace. The chocolate dough is pretty good methinks. But the dough for these pinwheels was sticky and more trouble than most. So I too put the dough in the fridge to stiffen it up. But then I had a difficult time getting the dough to pinwheel. I ended up with striped cookies. There are worse things in the world certainly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Dough is very difficult to work with. The white dough was too sticky to roll out, so I chilled both doughs-- after an hour, it was still sticky, and the chocolate dough had stiffened so that when I rolled it, it cracked. I ended up with cookies that looked like a mosaic, not a pinwheel. The flavor was not worth the trouble, the butter flavor was too strong and the chocolate didn't offset the oiliness enough. An okay cookie, but not worth the trouble. I'll stick to my peanut butter pinwheels from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
THESE CAME OUT PERFECT AND WAS VERY PRETTY. I PRESENTED THEM ON A PLATTER WITH NEOPOLITAN COOKIES AND THEY ALL SOLD LIKE HOTCAKES! LOOKS A BIT COMPLEX, BUT WASN'T. THANK YOU FOR A REAL GOOD KEEPER! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Great cookies with good chocolate flavor. To slice, I used thread - wrap a length of thread around the roll, cross the ends, and just pull together - it slices the dough really neatly, and doesn't squish the cookies out of shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I was able to make these perfectly - though they did end up in silly shapes. - i give them a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
the dough was very hard to deal with. Great taste but they looked horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Very easy to make. Cookie comes out a little on the dry side but the chocolate part is very flavorful. Great for dipping in hot chocolate or a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
A bit fiddley to make but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States