Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Amazing--these cookies were EXACTLY like the ones I remember getting as a kid! I did reduce the butter to 3/4 cup, I used Splenda sugar blend and also used Egg Beaters. Seriously, I didn't miss the calories or fat. I've been looking for a good recipe, and I've found it =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Holmdel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These cookies came out fantastic, both in looks and taste. I used the advice of others and upped the amount of lemon extract in the batter and also added some vanilla to the icing. My first batch came out a bit too big (using the 1/3 cup scoop to drop the cookies as previously suggested). Much better to just use a huge tablespoonful to drop the batter on the baking sheet, using the back of the spoon to swirl the mixture, not flatten. The size was perfect. Came out exactly as I get from our bakery, but with the added love of homemade. Will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONS77
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This recipe came out fabulous - just like what I had growing up, and what I get when I go back to NY to visit. I did add a little extra lemon extract, and cut the flour by 1/2 cup as suggested by others. I also added a little vanilla to the icing. The texture was perfect. They baked about 20-22 minutes (don't know why others needed less time unless they have HOT ovens). I did have a little trouble working with the chocolate icing. I don't think I had the right proportions of white icing to chocolate, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This cookies tasted good but looked bad! The dough is so hard to work with it's hard to shape them nice! My 1st batch I just dropped them and that wsn't a good idea!! You only need to cook them for about ten mins. or they will burn! The icing was a little hard to work with too, but that part turned out okay!! I wish I could make them look like in the picture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Man, this cookie was so difficult to make and it turned out all hard! It took a lot of time and effort and was not really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
VERY VERY CLOSE TO NY STYLE BLACK AND WHITES. THEY DO TAKE ALOT OF TIME TO MAKE BUT YOU WONT BE SORRY. THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
These are time consuming but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Wow! I made these last night for my little one and he was so excited! They are his favorite. Next time I would have to go with the others and make more frosting. I had way more batter which I ended up throwing away. I had no problem with speading on either the white or chocolate icing with a knife. After I did...I put them in the frige for a few minutes and they hardened perfectly. I gave one to my son and he said they were the best he has ever had! He also said that I could not give any away :) Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Living in London where you can't get Black and White cookies, I was desperate to find this childhood favourite recipe!! I thought the consistency was good, and it tasted nice, but not the true Black and White cookie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
My whole family loved these cookies!! Especially my brother who would definitely tell me if they sucked. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States