Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
the rating is an average for the cookie (about a 4) and the frosting (about a 2), however I used the frosting suggestion from another reviewer (with the corn syrup; the chocolate half tasted fine, the white...not so much)! Anyway, the cookies came out well: good size, good shape, good taste. I made very few changes to the recipe: used salted butter and omitted salt from the recipe, and increased the lemon extract to a generous teaspoon. The cookies look terrific with the icing but the taste with the icing is NOT terrific! I'm not sure what to do with these very nice looking not so great tasting cookies... I would suggest trying this recipe with the icing as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Made these!! Ok, doubled the recipe. On error I only added 3 cups of all purpose flour instead of 5 cups (Remember I doubled the recipe.) Baked a batch like this at 375 for about 12-15 minutes. They spread out a little bit too much, BUT they were spongy, soft and had a lite texture. Realizing my mistake, added flour back in. Cookie came out tasting more like a biscuit than a cookie. Added more liquid to make a softer dough and started over. Came out much better. So, Cut the flour down for sure. Forget the icing recipe. Didn't do anything for me. I suggest using your favorite frosting recipe and adding chocolate to half of the icing. I Will make these again, but will cut way down on the flour and use a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I'm giving this a 4 star rating but with some notes. DO NOT use butter to grease the cookie sheets, it will smoke at 375 degrees! I used shortening but I'm sure you can use cooking spray as well. The first batch burned using the butter. So I switched to the shortening and turned the oven back to 350 degrees. DO NOT bake these for 20-30 minutes! All of mine turned out very well after only 11-15 minutes at 350 degrees. Cookies turned out a little heavy, not spongy at all. Cut back on the flour, add more lemon extract. Use an ice cream scoop or 1/4 to 1/3 cup batter per cookie. Anything smaller might burn or get hard. Chocolate icing needs more than 1 square of chocolate. I used semi sweet because bittersweet wasn't available. I also added a bit of vanilla extract to the white icing. Not hard to make at all, will taste better once the recipe is perfected to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Excellant recipe! I made the adjustments suggested by others and I used a #20 disher to place 6 cookies on a 1/4 sheet pan and they baked up perfectly in 20 minutes to 5" circles about 3/8" thick. Since I only baked one pan at a time, I kept the dough refridgerated before making the next sheet pan. Total yield 19 cookies. Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
not very flavorful at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The cookie recipe was perfect. Just like the black and whites I remember. But the icing wasn't quite right. I used a different icing: more like fondant and much more like a traditional black and white frosting. 1/4 cup corn syrup heated to boiling with 1/2 cup water, and then added to 5 cups confectioner's sugar with 1 tsp. vanilla. Then add 2 oz unsweetened chocolate to 1/2 of the frosting. Thanks for the cookie recipe, Mary Jane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Amazing--these cookies were EXACTLY like the ones I remember getting as a kid! I did reduce the butter to 3/4 cup, I used Splenda sugar blend and also used Egg Beaters. Seriously, I didn't miss the calories or fat. I've been looking for a good recipe, and I've found it =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Holmdel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These cookies came out fantastic, both in looks and taste. I used the advice of others and upped the amount of lemon extract in the batter and also added some vanilla to the icing. My first batch came out a bit too big (using the 1/3 cup scoop to drop the cookies as previously suggested). Much better to just use a huge tablespoonful to drop the batter on the baking sheet, using the back of the spoon to swirl the mixture, not flatten. The size was perfect. Came out exactly as I get from our bakery, but with the added love of homemade. Will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONS77
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This recipe came out fabulous - just like what I had growing up, and what I get when I go back to NY to visit. I did add a little extra lemon extract, and cut the flour by 1/2 cup as suggested by others. I also added a little vanilla to the icing. The texture was perfect. They baked about 20-22 minutes (don't know why others needed less time unless they have HOT ovens). I did have a little trouble working with the chocolate icing. I don't think I had the right proportions of white icing to chocolate, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This cookies tasted good but looked bad! The dough is so hard to work with it's hard to shape them nice! My 1st batch I just dropped them and that wsn't a good idea!! You only need to cook them for about ten mins. or they will burn! The icing was a little hard to work with too, but that part turned out okay!! I wish I could make them look like in the picture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States