Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
The cookies came out very dry- I realize that black and white cookies tend to be a little floury, but these were dry even for black and white cookies. The taste of the cookie was okay- maybe decrease the amount of flour? The frosting also seemed to be lacking something... I added vanilla to the white side, but it still tasted flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I'm "the baker" in the family, and when noone said anything about the cookies I could tell they liked them as little as I did. They just are plain, hard to make, and NOT good. I threw away this recipe after I made it once. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These took a few hours to make. The next day the chocolate bled alittle into the white frosting. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
They need to be spread out A LOT before baking in order to make them look right. Also, they were too floury. If i made them again i'd probably use about a half cup less of each flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Well, they tasted like the bakery cookies, but I found them hard to make. It made way more cookies than the recipe said, and DON'T drop them in heaping tablespoons as they do not spread. The second batch I flattened a lot and they were better. The icing was hard. Next time I will make easier frosting if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These cookies came out great but I tweaked just a little bit -- I changed the frosting a little bit, I had to double this recipe: 2 3/4 cups confectioners sugar 2 tablespoons light corn syrup 1 drop lemon extract 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 4 to 6 tablespoons water Start with 2 tablespoons warm water then add by teaspoonful as needed. Mix well until a spreadable consistency--split frosting in 1/2 into 2 seperate bowls and add 1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder to one half (if doubling recipe double this too!) mix well adding more water as needed. spread onto cookies, allow icing to harden a little before eating. I also reduced the cooking time to about 12 minutes, and reduced each type of flour by 1/2 cup...and acheived perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were pretty good. I followed advice of other reviews and added more lemon extract and cooked them for much less time. I also used a basic white frosting instead of the glaze because I'm used to softer frosting on my black and white cookies. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Change the frosting and this becomes a FIVE! Use Powdered sugar and milk with some vanilla extract for the vanilla. Just use enough milk to barely dissolve the sugar. For the chocolate frosting, make the vanilla frosting but add hersheys syrup to taste. You'll need less milk b/c of the syrup. The frosting made this way is absolutely unbeatable. I won't eat anyone else's B & W cookies any more (and they've been my favorite treat for 30 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These tasted great, but I did have to double the lemon,and used 1/2 cup less flour. I baked them for 15 minutes and when I iced them I added 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil to make them shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
My family and I liked this recipe. The cookies had the home-made feel, but cost 80% less to make than buy at our local backery. We didn't think they were bland at all. Like others suggested, I reduced each type of flour by 1/2 a cup (four cups total) and increased the lemon to a generous teaspoon. Also, my tablespoon size drops of batter only took 12 minutes to bake. Whoever said to go light with the grease while preparing the cookie sheets was right. Too much grease and the bottoms burn. I used very little and had no problem with the cookies sticking. Because no one seemed crazy about the posted frosting, I made my own recipe. So I can't comment on that. I would only warn that to me (a not very experienced baker) these cookies seemed really labor intensive. It took me three hours to finish them all and I was working the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States