Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I followed the suggestion of raising the amount of cake flour. MAKE SURE YOU USE WAY MORE WATER THAN IT CALLS FOR IN THE FROSTING! I didn't figure this out until my last dozen. Those look beautiful. They all TASTE great, but only the last dozen LOOK great! The frosting hardened VERY quickly...especially the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made these this weekend and didn't change the ingredients. I baked the first batch @ 375 for 15mins and they seemed to brown to me so I decreased the oven to 350. Then they were fine. I did make the frosting according to the Hoosier review. Both white and chocolate turned out well. Chocolate actualyy tasted like a melted hersheys candy bar to me. Cookies were well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I was craving an authentic black and white cookie but didn't want to go all the way to the bakery, so I made these. They came out perfect! A little time consuming, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These cookies were AMAZING! The only changes I made were that I put 1 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of 1/4 (it still had a very mild lemon flavor) and I used twice the amount of bittersweet chocolate when making the chocolate frosting. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Couldn't be happier growing up on the east coast I grew up on black and whites! Been a long time since I found a recipe that even comes close.... This is it! I followed HOOSIER2B's alterations and they are spot on! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These turned out EXCELLENT! I followed suggestions from others. Tasted just as I remembered growing up in NY. My grandbabies couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I gave this three stars because I am a far better cook than a "baker" so it could have been operator error somewhere along the line. I did take other reviewers advice, and decreased the white flour, but that was the only adjustment that I made. They tasted like little flour hockey pucks. I'm glad that I tried the cookie before I went to the trouble to make the frosting. I slapped some store bought frosting on them to see if it improved the taste of the cookie, sadly, it did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I grew up on B&W cookies and now that I live 3,000 miles away from NYC, I was excited to try this cookie recipe--which is the same as the "Joy of Baking" recipe. It was definitely the beginning of a great B&W cookie. I made adjustments, however, as many reviewers suggested such as: using milk instead of water for the frosting, using unsweetened cocoa powder instead of chocolate and using more lemon in the batter. I submitted my adjustments on Allrecipes under NYC Black and White Cookies. Thanks so much for all your recommendations and help, I now can have my favorite childhood cookies anytime I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was super hard to do and they didn't taste at all like I remembered. 20 minutes was way too long- burned the first batch and had to turn the oven down to 350 to get anywhere close to the right finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't really care for this cookie. cookie wise it was similar to the kind you get from the bakery but I did not care for the icing at all. It was very bland and weird tasting. My husband did not like the cookie at all and said it was very dry tasting. I probably will not make this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States