Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I now make these cookies regularly and wanted to share some additional comments (please read my original under HOOSIER2B as it remains correct at least for my taste and from my memory). I bake these on an UNGREASED aluminum cookie sheet and use an extremely thin metal spatula to remove. I then cool on a rack before frosting. Once cooled, over the sink, I brush off all excess crumbs from bottom of each cookie. This step is necessary, as I find that by the cookie sheet being ungreased, a very fine layer of the bottom of each cookie will adhere to the sheet (being that my memory of New York Black & Whites has always been a completely uncrisp cookie, this serves to achieve that result). Regarding the frosting, I actually make it in 2 batches, white being first: 3 Cups confectioners sugar, 2 Tbsp light corn syrup (for consistency), 1 TBSP butter (for shine), 1 1/2 tsp clear imitation vanilla extract, and enough hot water to achieve desired consistency. I mix with a wire whisk until smooth. I then ice slightly over 1/2 of each cookie and let set until firm (approx. 20 mins.). For black icing: follow recipe for white however add to it 1/4 to 1/3 C. DUTCH processed cocoa powder (believe me, no other cocoa, chocolate or chocolate flavoring will do - I've tried them all!). I frost cookie by spooning on icing, then using a small offset spatula to smooth. If it appears that I am obsessed with these cookies, I am! It may take a few additional minutes longer overall, but I have to sa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Having grown up in Brookyln, NY, I was looking for a recipe that duplicated the taste of those BIG Black & Whites that were gotten from a local Italian deli for only a nickel! Okay, so it was many years ago, but I remember the taste well! After I tried this recipe, I knew that it was on the right track but needed just a few minor adjustments. So, after the third time, here is what I came up with: increase lemon extract to 1 tsp., decrease all-purpose flour to 2 1/4 cups, and increase salt to 3/4 tsp. Also, I initially tried the bittersweet chocolate in the frosting but found that using melted semi-sweet chocolate tasted more like what I was used to. I didn't measure the amount; just added it to taste (I would guess, about 4-5 ozs.!). Rather than dropping batter by tablespoons, I used 1/4-1/3 of a cup, then used the back of a spoon to swirl it into a nicely formed circle about 1" thick. Bake for about 11-14 minutes. This method results in the typical bakery size cookies. Overall, I would give this recipe 4 stars - VERY close to the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
(History fact- these cookies were originally made from the leftover cake batter at bakeries.) For those of you who are sick and tired of trying to find the recipe for your grandmother's black and white (or half-moon) cookies, THIS IS IT. This recipe is the same as the one from Zabar's and it's wonderful. Some reviewers felt that it didn't taste lemony enough- you MUST use pure lemon extract. It makes a world of difference. You can add a few extra drops if you'd like. I agree with the people who said you should spread/flatten them on your cookie sheet before baking. I use the back of a big spoon to shape and flatten it. Parchment paper helps as well. If you're looking for a fun way to decorate these cookies, use different colors of food coloring for the vanilla frosting side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
These are just like the black & whites in the bakery, if not better! I used hoosier2b's suggestions for the flour, lemon, salt, and chocolate icing adjustments- the cookies were big and baked up fluffy and cakelike, just like they should! WATCH them in the oven-- they're done right around 11 minutes, when the edges are just starting to turn golden. The icing won't bleed or look messy if you apply the white first and let it dry completely before applying the chocolate. Make sure that your icing remains warm while you're putting it on the cookies: it's easier to spread on and will dry shiny, just like the ones in the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Change the frosting and this becomes a FIVE! Use Powdered sugar and milk with some vanilla extract for the vanilla. Just use enough milk to barely dissolve the sugar. For the chocolate frosting, make the vanilla frosting but add hersheys syrup to taste. You'll need less milk b/c of the syrup. The frosting made this way is absolutely unbeatable. I won't eat anyone else's B & W cookies any more (and they've been my favorite treat for 30 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These cookies came out great but I tweaked just a little bit -- I changed the frosting a little bit, I had to double this recipe: 2 3/4 cups confectioners sugar 2 tablespoons light corn syrup 1 drop lemon extract 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 4 to 6 tablespoons water Start with 2 tablespoons warm water then add by teaspoonful as needed. Mix well until a spreadable consistency--split frosting in 1/2 into 2 seperate bowls and add 1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder to one half (if doubling recipe double this too!) mix well adding more water as needed. spread onto cookies, allow icing to harden a little before eating. I also reduced the cooking time to about 12 minutes, and reduced each type of flour by 1/2 cup...and acheived perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The cookie recipe was perfect. Just like the black and whites I remember. But the icing wasn't quite right. I used a different icing: more like fondant and much more like a traditional black and white frosting. 1/4 cup corn syrup heated to boiling with 1/2 cup water, and then added to 5 cups confectioner's sugar with 1 tsp. vanilla. Then add 2 oz unsweetened chocolate to 1/2 of the frosting. Thanks for the cookie recipe, Mary Jane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
The dough needs to be spread over the pan a bit- I used the back of a spoon- or else you get small, high mooncakes. The frosting is a bit of a struggle, too. I found I needed to add more water. Hint: add a tablespoon of vegetable oil to keep the icing shiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is a great recipe! It is worth the time, although I'm not sure if I thought that while I was making them.... But I certainly did after I tasted them! I ran out of confectioner's sugar and ended up melting both white and dark chocolate chips for the frosting, which actually was a big hit. I almost burned the first batch, though. I had to turn the heat down to 325 degrees and only baked them for 9 minutes-they were perfectly golden brown. A must-make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These took a few hours to make. The next day the chocolate bled alittle into the white frosting. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States