Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mb123
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
First attempt making these. Very soft cookie. Cake-like. Instead of making icing I used vanilla and chocolate frosting. Made these for my BF for valentines day so he will be the judge. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I just burned the first batch, so I tried again at 325 and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Greeeeeat cookie! Very delicious. However, the white frosting! Is noooo good! For someone that loves sugar and sweets, it is way too sweet. I suggest making the cookie and dipping half of it in just chocolate (no powdered sugar). I have a brand new respect for the bakeries that can make this cookie taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
We called these Half Moon Cookies in Upstate NY. Instead of lemon extract I use almond. I can't seem to get the chocolate frosting right,its almost a glaze but not quite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vincent Murinigo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
It came out perfect, born and raised in New York, always have the house stocked up of black and whites, now I know how to make them, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was ok, but The Best Rolled Cookies from this site beats this one in taste and simplicity. Just add 4-5T milk and the zest from one whole lemon to that recipe, then follow the tips here for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I liked the consistency of these cookies, but I didn't think the overall taste was that great. I will try them again and add more lemon extract and probably a bit more sugar next time. I like the lemon flavor in Black & White cookies and I didn't really taste any in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made recipe as is. Nice cake like big cookies. Just like the bakeries sell as far as taste and bigness goes. I made 6" diameter cookies and this recipe made 15 cookies. Love the history on these and knowing that originally they were made from leftover cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Lovely! Brought them to a get together, and everyone was raving! I just made 2 replacements. I replaced the lemon essence with the zest of one lemon (had a good lemon flavor, put less in if you don't want to feel the lemon) I replaced the cake flour with regular flour, substituting 2 tablespoons of each cup of flour for 2 tablespoons corn starch. I was worried about the result, since I didn't have a beater and just mixed everything with a potato smasher, and then when I added the liquid to the butter/sugar, it looked all chunky!!!! But, when I added in the flour it mixed in well. No problems. I definitely will be making these again. Who knew they were so simple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a very good cookie. It is great with the black and white frosting but is also great as a plain cookie. To me this is the mark of a good cookie, when it does not need the extra stuff on it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States