Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
The icing really makes you regret the whole endeavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
They came out to dense and bland. They didn't spread out enough. I used a convection oven, so I lowered the temp to 350 but they still baked way quicker then 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I remember July 1969. A few good men landed on the moon. I had been looking for a receipe that was as good as the treat I received that evening in 1969... and ladies and gentlemen, this is it! I needed to make moon cookies for my son's third grade class and found this perfect recipe. I know for a few of you, this cookie might be slightly tasteless and not what you might expect, but drink some coffee or tea along with this special treat and you'll find out what I did on that long ago evening in July,1969. Thank you for reading my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
the rating is an average for the cookie (about a 4) and the frosting (about a 2), however I used the frosting suggestion from another reviewer (with the corn syrup; the chocolate half tasted fine, the white...not so much)! Anyway, the cookies came out well: good size, good shape, good taste. I made very few changes to the recipe: used salted butter and omitted salt from the recipe, and increased the lemon extract to a generous teaspoon. The cookies look terrific with the icing but the taste with the icing is NOT terrific! I'm not sure what to do with these very nice looking not so great tasting cookies... I would suggest trying this recipe with the icing as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Made these!! Ok, doubled the recipe. On error I only added 3 cups of all purpose flour instead of 5 cups (Remember I doubled the recipe.) Baked a batch like this at 375 for about 12-15 minutes. They spread out a little bit too much, BUT they were spongy, soft and had a lite texture. Realizing my mistake, added flour back in. Cookie came out tasting more like a biscuit than a cookie. Added more liquid to make a softer dough and started over. Came out much better. So, Cut the flour down for sure. Forget the icing recipe. Didn't do anything for me. I suggest using your favorite frosting recipe and adding chocolate to half of the icing. I Will make these again, but will cut way down on the flour and use a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I'm giving this a 4 star rating but with some notes. DO NOT use butter to grease the cookie sheets, it will smoke at 375 degrees! I used shortening but I'm sure you can use cooking spray as well. The first batch burned using the butter. So I switched to the shortening and turned the oven back to 350 degrees. DO NOT bake these for 20-30 minutes! All of mine turned out very well after only 11-15 minutes at 350 degrees. Cookies turned out a little heavy, not spongy at all. Cut back on the flour, add more lemon extract. Use an ice cream scoop or 1/4 to 1/3 cup batter per cookie. Anything smaller might burn or get hard. Chocolate icing needs more than 1 square of chocolate. I used semi sweet because bittersweet wasn't available. I also added a bit of vanilla extract to the white icing. Not hard to make at all, will taste better once the recipe is perfected to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Excellant recipe! I made the adjustments suggested by others and I used a #20 disher to place 6 cookies on a 1/4 sheet pan and they baked up perfectly in 20 minutes to 5" circles about 3/8" thick. Since I only baked one pan at a time, I kept the dough refridgerated before making the next sheet pan. Total yield 19 cookies. Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
not very flavorful at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The cookie recipe was perfect. Just like the black and whites I remember. But the icing wasn't quite right. I used a different icing: more like fondant and much more like a traditional black and white frosting. 1/4 cup corn syrup heated to boiling with 1/2 cup water, and then added to 5 cups confectioner's sugar with 1 tsp. vanilla. Then add 2 oz unsweetened chocolate to 1/2 of the frosting. Thanks for the cookie recipe, Mary Jane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Amazing--these cookies were EXACTLY like the ones I remember getting as a kid! I did reduce the butter to 3/4 cup, I used Splenda sugar blend and also used Egg Beaters. Seriously, I didn't miss the calories or fat. I've been looking for a good recipe, and I've found it =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Holmdel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States