Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made these for the first time and was very pleased with the cookie part, although I didn't read the reviews before I baked and didn't know to spread out the dough -- I'll do that next time. The white part of the glaze was fine, but I needed MUCH more than 1/3c of boiling water, so make sure you have more than 1/3 to work with. Also, I used 2oz of chocolate instead of 1 in order to get the color I wanted. I left the chocolate over the boiling water as I iced (I did the white part on all the cookies first) and the chocolate started seizing towards the end. I think I'll try cocoa powder next time. Overall, this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I now make these cookies regularly and wanted to share some additional comments (please read my original under HOOSIER2B as it remains correct at least for my taste and from my memory). I bake these on an UNGREASED aluminum cookie sheet and use an extremely thin metal spatula to remove. I then cool on a rack before frosting. Once cooled, over the sink, I brush off all excess crumbs from bottom of each cookie. This step is necessary, as I find that by the cookie sheet being ungreased, a very fine layer of the bottom of each cookie will adhere to the sheet (being that my memory of New York Black & Whites has always been a completely uncrisp cookie, this serves to achieve that result). Regarding the frosting, I actually make it in 2 batches, white being first: 3 Cups confectioners sugar, 2 Tbsp light corn syrup (for consistency), 1 TBSP butter (for shine), 1 1/2 tsp clear imitation vanilla extract, and enough hot water to achieve desired consistency. I mix with a wire whisk until smooth. I then ice slightly over 1/2 of each cookie and let set until firm (approx. 20 mins.). For black icing: follow recipe for white however add to it 1/4 to 1/3 C. DUTCH processed cocoa powder (believe me, no other cocoa, chocolate or chocolate flavoring will do - I've tried them all!). I frost cookie by spooning on icing, then using a small offset spatula to smooth. If it appears that I am obsessed with these cookies, I am! It may take a few additional minutes longer overall, but I have to sa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I grew up on Zaro's cookies from NYC (I liked them better than Zabar's). I followed the suggestions of some of the other reviewers, and decreased the both flours by 1/2 cup and used the frosting recipe suggested by LOVECED, and these came out as good as I remember (about 3 weeks ago I had a Zaro's Black and White). I made a half batch the first time and found they didn't take all that much time or effort, I will definitely be making these a lot! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These were... okay. Kind of bland to my taste though. And how in the world are you supposed to make frosting by mixing sugar, water, and melted chocolate? The chocolate seizes EVERY time! The frosting definitely needs work - but this is a good base recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemrslarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
These cookies are called 'Amerikaners' in germany. thats where i first had them and they are absolutely delicious. i finally found a recipe to them and i can wait to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Ok, so I thought these were ok, not great. Now it's been a long time since I had a black and white cookie from a bakery, so I had nothing to compare them to. Maybe I was expecting more. First off, this recipe makes a ton of LARGE cookies. I wish I would have made half a batch. They were very time consuming and they were ok in flavor. The icing is almost overpowering for the flavor of the cookie...I added corn syrup to add a shine. I also think that the extracts should be increased to a tsp each for such a large amount of dough. I will find out what my family thinks later today, since I made them for my cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I've made these cookies over and over and although they do take some time, they are entirely worth it! They taste like the bakery cookies and i'm a new yorker so i would know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
The cookies came out very dry- I realize that black and white cookies tend to be a little floury, but these were dry even for black and white cookies. The taste of the cookie was okay- maybe decrease the amount of flour? The frosting also seemed to be lacking something... I added vanilla to the white side, but it still tasted flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I'm "the baker" in the family, and when noone said anything about the cookies I could tell they liked them as little as I did. They just are plain, hard to make, and NOT good. I threw away this recipe after I made it once. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These took a few hours to make. The next day the chocolate bled alittle into the white frosting. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States