Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
If you are looking for a Black and White cookie recipe I would start here. Recipe was very very good. Cookies were a little dry the day after, however it is suppose to be a cookie and they were still delicious. (just not as good as when I first took them out of the oven :-) ) I followed Kathy's alterations (another reviewer) and was very pleased with results. The extra lemon, the reduction in flower all contributed to a better cookie. Her icing was spot on, however I did not use Dutch chocolate but rather another brand and it work just fine. I did add a few more drops of vanilla to the chocolate spread to mellow it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Use 1/4 cup less flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The only problem I had was the bake time is TOO long if your baking these at 375. I had to cut baking time down to 15 minutes. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have been trying to please my Queens born husband ever since we moved from NYC 8 years ago. I read the reviews and the suggestions from HOOSIER2B were good. However, my husband disagreed on the lemon and only wanted 1/2 a teaspoon and said that it was perfect that way. Thanks for all the good hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Krieger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My husband grew up with these Deli cookies and loves the ones I made even more! I did follow a previous reviewer's suggestions on the frosting. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These cookies were excellent. I made the changes that Kathy suggested, and they came out perfect. The only problem I had was that I could not stack them without messing up the icing. I let them sit out for about an hour until the icing set, but the problem was the unfrosted side of the cookie. It was so moist that it stuck to the icing when stacked. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Tastes just like the black and white cookies at Einstein Bagels where I used to work! I cooked the first batch for 20 minutes and when the timer went off they looked overdone, so I put in the second batch for only 15 minutes just until the edges started to brown. Between the two batches, I prefer the one that cooked longer. The texture is just perfect. I am so thrilled to have this recipe now! The only thing I changed was to use dark chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate just because that's what I had on hand. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very close to the black and whites in NY. I used 1 1/2 tsp lemon extract, 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, b/c it is all I had. I will definately make again. I will try other's suggestion and cut the all purpose flour by 1/4 cup. Update: I should have noted before, use a teaspoon to scoop, a tablespoon is too big and puffy. The rounded teaspoon is perfect. I baked them about 15-18 minutes since they were a little smaller. They were much better with 1/4 cup less all purpose flour. This time they were just like the cookies in NY. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Bland tasting cookies. Not up to what I expected. Edible though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
HELP!!! My first batch of cookies came out great. However, when I pulled out the 2nd batch-the batter had run all together!!! They are a mess. Should I have let the cookie sheet cool? I followed the changes and cut the flour to a total of 4 cups and added 1 tsp lemon & 1/2 tsp vanilla - very good taste. Cookies are done in 11-12 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States