Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These cookies taste delicious but I just can't get them to rise up and form the wonderful upside-down bowl shape that the pros create at bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
good cookies, but i added 3.5 cups of cake flour and 1.5 of all purpose to make them even lighter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These came out pretty good. I took a reviewers comments and added more lemon extract...should have stuck with the original recipe, it tasted too lemony. Other than that, they had the right consistency, and tasted very close to what I remember from my childhood. I now live in Florida and the bakeries here just can't seem to get it right. I will make these again using less lemon extract. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I have never had NY Deli Black and White cookie, so perhaps these are identical. However, I and my family found them dry and tasteless, kind of like stale cake. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very good. I used semi-sweet chocolate instead of the bittersweet, just out of preference. However, my husband didn't like the glaze ontop of the cookies and I agree that the next time I make these I will use a buttercream frosting. I was a little apprehensive about using the lemon extract but it worked! These taste as if you bought them in a bakery, seriously! I was so pleased, and so was my daughter, they are her favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Love these cookies...came out perfect on my first try. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
They were... good, but did not taste like the black & white cookies that I know from the bakery. I think they were too lemony and I had a hard time keeping the two colors/flavors of the icing from bleeding together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
If you are looking for a Black and White cookie recipe I would start here. Recipe was very very good. Cookies were a little dry the day after, however it is suppose to be a cookie and they were still delicious. (just not as good as when I first took them out of the oven :-) ) I followed Kathy's alterations (another reviewer) and was very pleased with results. The extra lemon, the reduction in flower all contributed to a better cookie. Her icing was spot on, however I did not use Dutch chocolate but rather another brand and it work just fine. I did add a few more drops of vanilla to the chocolate spread to mellow it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Use 1/4 cup less flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The only problem I had was the bake time is TOO long if your baking these at 375. I had to cut baking time down to 15 minutes. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States