Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These cookies were AMAZING! The only changes I made were that I put 1 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of 1/4 (it still had a very mild lemon flavor) and I used twice the amount of bittersweet chocolate when making the chocolate frosting. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Couldn't be happier growing up on the east coast I grew up on black and whites! Been a long time since I found a recipe that even comes close.... This is it! I followed HOOSIER2B's alterations and they are spot on! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These turned out EXCELLENT! I followed suggestions from others. Tasted just as I remembered growing up in NY. My grandbabies couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I gave this three stars because I am a far better cook than a "baker" so it could have been operator error somewhere along the line. I did take other reviewers advice, and decreased the white flour, but that was the only adjustment that I made. They tasted like little flour hockey pucks. I'm glad that I tried the cookie before I went to the trouble to make the frosting. I slapped some store bought frosting on them to see if it improved the taste of the cookie, sadly, it did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I grew up on B&W cookies and now that I live 3,000 miles away from NYC, I was excited to try this cookie recipe--which is the same as the "Joy of Baking" recipe. It was definitely the beginning of a great B&W cookie. I made adjustments, however, as many reviewers suggested such as: using milk instead of water for the frosting, using unsweetened cocoa powder instead of chocolate and using more lemon in the batter. I submitted my adjustments on Allrecipes under NYC Black and White Cookies. Thanks so much for all your recommendations and help, I now can have my favorite childhood cookies anytime I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was super hard to do and they didn't taste at all like I remembered. 20 minutes was way too long- burned the first batch and had to turn the oven down to 350 to get anywhere close to the right finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't really care for this cookie. cookie wise it was similar to the kind you get from the bakery but I did not care for the icing at all. It was very bland and weird tasting. My husband did not like the cookie at all and said it was very dry tasting. I probably will not make this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These cookies taste delicious but I just can't get them to rise up and form the wonderful upside-down bowl shape that the pros create at bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
good cookies, but i added 3.5 cups of cake flour and 1.5 of all purpose to make them even lighter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These came out pretty good. I took a reviewers comments and added more lemon extract...should have stuck with the original recipe, it tasted too lemony. Other than that, they had the right consistency, and tasted very close to what I remember from my childhood. I now live in Florida and the bakeries here just can't seem to get it right. I will make these again using less lemon extract. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States