Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I burned the first batch massively, since I just set the oven timer for 20 minutes and walked away. The second batch I only cooked for 10 minutes and they were just right. I agree that they puff up too far - I wish I had read these reviews before I made them - I would definately have liked them to be thinner. Next time I am going to try cutting the flour back a little bit, since I like the Starbuck's black & white cookies - which is more of a cupcake texture and I am going to cook them in a muffin top pan. I used the pure lemon extract, but I feel it could use more lemon. I may try adding a drop to the white frosting to give that a bit of a kick. I made them to take to a BBQ Party which was cancelled due to rain, so I brought them into work - they were all gone within two hours and everyone raved about them the whole week. Now they want me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This recipe was right on for creating cookies like you would get at any New York bakery. My only suggestion is to make more frosting that recommended. We were a little short, I would 1.5 or double it next time. Also, the cookies baked in 15-20 minutes, not the 20-30 that the recipe suggests. And one final suggestion, refrigerate the cookies after you frost them to get the true NY taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Having grown up in Brookyln, NY, I was looking for a recipe that duplicated the taste of those BIG Black & Whites that were gotten from a local Italian deli for only a nickel! Okay, so it was many years ago, but I remember the taste well! After I tried this recipe, I knew that it was on the right track but needed just a few minor adjustments. So, after the third time, here is what I came up with: increase lemon extract to 1 tsp., decrease all-purpose flour to 2 1/4 cups, and increase salt to 3/4 tsp. Also, I initially tried the bittersweet chocolate in the frosting but found that using melted semi-sweet chocolate tasted more like what I was used to. I didn't measure the amount; just added it to taste (I would guess, about 4-5 ozs.!). Rather than dropping batter by tablespoons, I used 1/4-1/3 of a cup, then used the back of a spoon to swirl it into a nicely formed circle about 1" thick. Bake for about 11-14 minutes. This method results in the typical bakery size cookies. Overall, I would give this recipe 4 stars - VERY close to the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I didn't cook the cookies for 20-30 minutes, actually not even 15. I added a touch more of lemon. Everything else was great. It reminded me of home. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
The best B&W cookies I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Having been desperate to make black and whites for ages, i was delighted to discover this recipe. the cookie part was great, so was the white icing, but i don't think the chocolate icing is quite right. it's too "brown" - not black and shiny like traditional black and whites. does anyone have any suggestions? apart from that, this is great - next time i make it i think i'll half the recipe, cos you get loads and they don't stay fresh for very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I have never tasted these so I can only assume by the reviews that they turned out correctly. The cookie is spongy,light,and cake like. I used a small ice cream scoop that has a release lever and it worked perfect. I did spread them out a bit as past reviews suggested. I baked at 350 for 9-10 min on parchment. The frosting, I frosted all the white portion first using 1 inch pastry brush which worked very well. I then thinned the remaining frosting with additional water and brushed the chocolate on. They make a very pretty presentation and tasted excellent too. A little time comsuming but not too bad.This recipe made 5 doz. 2 1/2 to 3 inch cookies. Thanks Mary Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I found this recipe and made the cookies yesterday and I felt like I was back in NYC. They came out great. I would make just a few comments. An ice cream scoop was the perfect size with the dough flattened before baking. I found out that you should not make the icing until all of the cookies are completely cooled, since it hardens quickly. I do all of my baking on stoneware and the texture was perfect. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
these are good - they look and taste like black and whites, but were big and also puffy in the middle. it made about 18-20 the size of baseball. although the 2nd time i tried less cake flour, they were still puffy. maybe i will try to spread as someone mentioned. also i will try to ice the flat side so there is no drips to clean up- that is a good suggestion. company, me and husband loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Previous reviews were extremely helpful. All other recipes I've found were exactly the same as this one (for once!). I added 1.5 times the lemon extract (yes, use pure). I used 1/2 c less cake flour. I used more water for the frosting, still came out slightly fudgy, needed to add more. I considered using a little corn syrup- maybe next time. I baked them 9 minutes- no way would this work baking 20-30 minutes! The only note I could add is to frost the flat side. We did the first few on the rounded side and the frosting, especially extra watered, was very drippy and ran off the cookies. The flat side helped hold the frosting better. Also, you may want to consider using an implement besides a pastry brush. I lost a few brush hairs on the cookies and had to be very careful. Maybe a spatula? Also- there's a fine line between letting the cookies sit out for the frosting to set vs. the cookie underneath becoming too dry. I left them out too long, since I was sending them in the mail and wanted the frosting very well set, but the cookie part wasn't as soft as it should have. But every taster-tester I had said they were just like the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States