Black Walnut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Just made this for Sunday breakfast and it is absolutely scrumptious!! So tasty and moist, and best of all, easy. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
01/14/07 very good, its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I have to admit I made it exactly as listed, except without the walnuts... I wanted a plain, vanilla pound cake to have with strawberries and ice cream. It was moist and wonderful and took the same amount of time to bake as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Leaves a terrible after taste in your mouth. I'll give two stars cause it is moist. Maybe would be better with a different nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
We love this cake. It is so moist. I usually put a glaze, but no need. It never lasts very long in the house and super easy to make. I use regular walnuts and add black walnut flavoring to the cake as well as the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I had some black walnuts so I decided to give this recipe a try, and……….wow! It came out so moist and tasty. I used the “Classic Vanilla Butter Cream Frosting” (from this site) which was a good combination. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this cake for my family a couple of nights ago for dessert annd they loved it.It was so easy to make and so yummy.I added 1/2cup chopped walnuts and made a easy glaze to top it off,but its great with or without the glaze.I will be making this cake again.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
We have black walnut trees and I was always looking for away to use them. This is it! Even my kids that do not care for the taste of black walnuts liked this! The ones that like the taste of black walnuts loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States