Black Walnut Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
My family made these cookies years ago and I thought the recipe was gone forever. Thanks for posting it. Very goooood cookies. Glo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I got raves about this recipe from my friends at our cookie exchange. The only difference is that I used walnuts that were already roasted with sugar, salt, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Easy to put together & taste good too. I thought they would have more maple flavor...the nuts seem to be the prominent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made these cookies and followed the recipe to the letter, they were perfect! I have tried other recipes for black walnut cookies and this one is the best, the texture of the cookie was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I thought these were quite good. I made 1/2 recipe and got 20 cookies. I cut it in two pieces, then, instead of 3 to refridgerate for 1 hour. They remind me of the marriage of a pecan sandie cookie and a soft maple shortbread flavored cookie. They have both a crisp and soft texture. I liked that they weren't too sweet to. I liked them better the next day: They tasted like a big soft version of a windmill cookie without the spicy after taste or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great recipe, I doubled the maple extract to 1 tsp rather then 1/2. In my first round of cookies I went 1 1/4 cup walnuts but its better with the full 1 1/2 cups as suggested by the default recipe. All and all very well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
my mom wanted me to make these. they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hyrum, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Originally found this recipe on Christmas-Cookies.com about 12 years ago. Have been making them every Christmas. They are a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States