Black Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This by far is the Best walnut cake recipe I've found. The results are outstanding. My husband loved it, I am making it again today.....for the 3rd time :-).Thanks patricia, would be making more from your list of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I remember my mom made a black walnut cake with a butter creme frosting. I was looking for a black walnut cake recipe and this was amazing. The whole family loved it!!!! It barely had time to cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This worked out great though I toned down the butter and sugar, and substituted for the shortening.. (bumped up the quantity of walnuts though!). Pl. note the detailed instructions have the correct baking time (1.5 hours), although the total cooking time mentioned on the webpage incorrectly states 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great cake! I made two changes to this recipe. I increased the amount walnuts to 1 cup diced. I also poured a glaze over the cake after it cooled and added a half cup of nuts on top of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Proverbs31
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Was delicious; not too sweet, but perfect. I added a cup of Black Walnuts. Next time I will add a bit more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Whites Creek, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I believe I was using regular walnuts and not black walnuts. Oops! Oh well, it was still delicious :) It tastes of cinnamon, sugar, and nuts. I made this for my grandmother's birthday :) Used my great grandmother's glaze recipe for on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This Cake Was Very Good. I Took It To Work, And They Just Loved It. I Even Made A Mistake Of Putting In Regular Walnuts, And It Came Out Just Fine. Next Time I Will Use The Black Walnuts Though. I Will Be Making This Cake Again. Very Easy To Put Together. Thanks From Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I followed ZMO lead with less sugar (2 cups), chopped apple and no shortening... I only had regular walnuts (from our own walnut tree outside) and this cake is really moist and flavorful... good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great recipe! This was a huge hit with the family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Almost like my mom's recipe. I prefer the crust softer. Black walnuts are hard to find in Texas! It was irritating because at my mom's all I had to do was go pick them up in the back yard! I think I went to 4 stores before I found some, but this recipe definately brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States