Black Walnut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
Very good cake. Don't over-bake it to keep it moist. If you love black walnuts, you'll love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A cake that will have your guests asking for more. Everyone loved this recipe but it was a little too sweet for me so I made a second one but reduced sugar to just ONE cup instead of 1&2/3 cups. It was AWESOME~! I frosted it with homemade cream cheese frosting..it was to die for~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I been looking for Walnut cake recipe with light, soft and not to buttery test and I try this one! My husband ask me to make it for his staff on the eve of Christmas, I top it with butter and coffee topping and they all love it. thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I love to bake, and this was a fun recipe to make! I made cupcakes, because I wanted to give cake to several people. Baked for 21-22 mins. I used a buttercream frosting, with black maple flavoring instead of vanilla. My boyfriend, who hates sweets, ate 3 before dinner. My mother, and harshest critic, loved them. Will again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this cake for a co-worker that requested it. It is literally the BEST cake I have ever made or eaten in my life and everyone at work agrees. I'm definitely making this again and again. It's delicious and super moist and rich flavored. You don't need a big slice that's for sure...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
made this Christmas 2009.. very good with no fail icing and crushed wal on top. I used maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sas1329

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My kids did not like it at all (totally expected), but my husband and I both loved it. And part of the appeal of this recipe is that I know my kids won't eat it. So I can have a cake last more than one day!! It tasted wonderful and I'm planning on using this recipe many more times. I used boiled frosting and it went very well with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spiceoflife
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Love this cake I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg and frosted with cream cheese frosting, was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a keeper and easier than my Italian Cream Cake recipe from Aunt Ester; however, for special occasions, it is Aunt Esters. This is a good quick one. The only changes I made was to reduce the white sugar to 1 cup as another reader suggested, added 1 cup of coconut and I baked it in a 9x13 pan and cut the cake in half and put the icing in the middle and on the cake itself. I got many compliments and will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States