Black Treacle Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I went to Ireland a year ago and couldn't stop eating scones. I've been searching for a really good recipe, and this MAY be it. I was really excited to see reviews that said "not sweet enough," or "too dry," because I knew people were comparing it to our american scones, which just aren't the same thing at all. I figured if a lot of people thought they were too sweet, they'd be just right for me. I think I might have over kneaded the dough or didn't cut the butter in right, because mine are SUPER dense, but it's okay. I'm going to keep trying at this recipe. But I'm eating one right now and it's delicious! I may put some raisins in next time as well. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beatrice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was my first real scone recipe to try. I am thrilled with the results. The only thing I did that wasn't in the recipe was make a cinnamon glaze to pour on the top for just a little added sweetness. I didn't think they were heavy but I've only had a scone once before so didn't know what to expect. Since the butter I used had softened up quite a bit when I cut it into the dry, I put the mixture into the fridge for a while to chill before I added the milk. I will def. be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Loved this recipe. I like cooking but when it comes to baking, I'm a bit hesitant but these were easy. The dough was still sticky when all was mixed so added a bit more flour. When all was baked I thought taste was too subtle and would suggest adding more of all the spices and molasses. Next time I will double the spices and molasses. (By the way I used Briar Rabbit Blackstrap Molasses if anyone is interested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were good. I did not like them warm though, and I did top with honey as they are not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Everyone loved these! We made them for St. Pat's day. The only change I made was to add about 4 tbs of sugar. We wanted it a little sweeter. I will probably start making these instead of biscuits. They were moist and flaky and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were great! Not too sweet and very flakey. The recipe was easy and mine did rise nicely. I like triangles as well so I rolled the dough out in one big circle that was at least 1 inch thick and cut into 8 triangles. For those of you who like sweet you could add a little brown sugar or some raisins, or both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These are my favorite scones to make. During the holiday season I add lots of ginger and cloves. Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow! Three thumbs up! Used soft marg instead of butter and delighted my vegan husband. Quick, easy and tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I like the way that if you cover them after baking, they stay soft, while the other ones get crisper. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour instead of what was called for, and I needed just a little more milk. They rose nicely! Not sweet, really! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These scones were amazing! I made them for some Irish friends and they loved them. Add a bit more spice and molasses and serve them with butter and apricot preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States