Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I did not get to taste it, so not sure about how many stars I should give. I made it for a Dessert Dash for the school auction, I thought it would be a fun item for the right group. I had a hard time with it when I took it out of the oven though! I turned it upside down too soon and it crumbled. Wait until it cools!!! I frosted it and decorated it strategically with partially sliced strawberries, but hope others will heed my hasty mistake and let it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this cake. I make a low fat modification by using applesauce instead of oil, and left out the extra sugar, and personally because I love chocolate so much I use dark chocolate cake mix instead of yellow, but i could never remember exactly how much of the other things to add...and one of my friends made this cake years ago and I lost the recipe. Just brought it to work today for an office lunch party and it received rave reviews, and multiple requests to have it made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This recipe has been in my family for at least 40 years and I use a bundt pan and I use 1/4 C. Kahlua & Vodka. Everyone thinks this cake is one of the best and it's so easy. My recipe dosn't call for sugar. The last time I made I used 7 minute frosting and it was a wow. Not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I won a best dessert award with this. I also have brought a cake like this to several birthday parties, and everyone has loved it. So good! For the topping, I mix chocolate frosting with Kaluha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is a great cake, that I have made several times. Everyone loves it. The coffee liquor sure does add the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe didn't work very well for me. The consistency was very weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CELINAK
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
very good cake. easy to make, it really rises a lot with the pudding in the mix and makes a lot. I made cupcakes- it made 12 cupcakes and i filled a loaf pan too and made a small cake. i followed others advice about the glaze - adding a bit of butter (i only used a half stick) and to make it a bit less caloric i halfed splenda with the sugar and applesauce with the oil and used a light butter. delicious and the house smelled wonderful! great cake and a bit unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake has made me famous. I found several years ago and have been making it several times a year ever since. It does not need to be changed in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've made this cake five + times now. It's a huge hit. Baking time for the bundt pan is increased by 15 or more minutes. For the 'glaze' I mix 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 3/4 stick of real butter, 1/4 cup of chocolate chips, 1/4 cup of coffee liquer - warm in skillet until totally incorporated - poke toothpick holes in cake and poor glaze on top. Holy smokes... did I mention how fantastic this is?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I do them as cupcakes and cook them for 15-20 minutes-SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States