Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
A superbly magnificent cake that will have its splendor indulged when accompanied by THIS glaze, instead of the given one. Also, chocolate chips are a wonderful addition to the cake itself. 1 stick butter 1/4 cup kahlua 1/4 cup water 1 cup sugar put all in a medium-large saucepan and boil for two to three minutes(it will get big while boiling so be careful, you can use a humongous pot if you wish) then just put it on the cake, still in the pan, as soon as you take the cake out of the oven and let it soak in for a half hour. It will be extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This cake is DIVINE!! Thank you Rory Kate! My friend made it for me for my birthday and I have made it again and again...and again. I suggest baking for 50 minutes, remove from pan for 20 minutes, place back in pain and pour the following over the bottom, let it soak in for an hour and then turn upright and dust with confectioners sugar. GLAZE: Blend 1/4 C. confectioners sugar with 1/4 stick melted butter and 1/4 C. Kahlua. The glaze recommended by TNTKIDS made my cake too wet (as though it wasn't cooked) This variation was just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
It is sweet and rich. Mixing the ingredients for 4 minutes is way too excessive. It made the batter rise too high and spill over. About half the batter spilled over. However, the end result is a good cake. Moist, thick, and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used dark chocolate cake mix, cut back to 1/4 cup sugar in base mix and added Ghiradelli cocoa powder to the glaze. I also plan on using Chambord (raspberry) liqueur in place of Kahua w/chocolate cake, orange liqueur w/orange cake and vanilla pudding. Try different combinations of cake mixes, different flavors of compatible liqueurs, and puddings for this very moist and versatile cake! Note: I took this cake up to my husband's fire station and they ate the entire cake in ONE night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This cake is so moist and amazing! The taste of alcohol is not overwhelming, but it does have an adult taste to it. I made small holes inthe cake before adding the glaze and the cake soaked it up. I thought the cake would be soggy the next day, but it was great. The cake also freezes well. My husband and I wanted cake when it was just the two of us and I knew we'd eat it all so I cut it in slices and put it in freezer bags. I defrosted it onthe counter for a couple of hours and it was just as good as when fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I made this for my reading group luncheon and it was a huge hit. It was so easy to make, I thought I must be doing something wrong, but this cake was fabulous. Several people had second helpings (including me) and asked for the recipe. I took reviewers advice and cut the sugar in half. It wasn't missed. I cannot imagine leaving out the vodka as one review suggested as it really adds depth to the flavor of the cake. The powdered sugar dusted on top sort of sucks up the liquer so you should wait until you are ready to serve before you dust it on. I also added pretty flat candy sprinkles to give it a more festive look. This moist and delicious cake is one that I will make again and again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was fantastic! I made it as a birthday cake for my boyfriend's mother and it went over very well. The only change I would make is in the glaze. After sifting the powdered sugar over this cake it soaked in and didn't look very pretty. The sugar on the cake turned a brown color and all around the cake plate was white icing sugar. Also, the glaze mixture didn't cover the entire cake. I think next time I will add 1/4 cup more powdered sugar to the glaze and skip sifting the powdered sugar over the top entirely. My boyfriend suggested that next time it might look better if after putting the clear glaze on and letting it cool, that I make a second glaze in a thick white or chocolate and pour it over the top so that the edges drizzle down. I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I'd make this again - the only thing I had to change was cooking time (40 minutes wasn't enough). Cake was moist and very dense/rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This cake is so easy to make and everyone loves it! I have made it 5-6 times now and it has taken a while to figure out the timing/temp. of the oven as well as the correct pan for it as well. I use a 10 inch bunt and keep it at the temp. the recipe calls for. The thing to remember is that b/c of the pudding in it, you want it to be a bit more soft in the middle....so even if you take it out, it tends to cook a while after it is out of the oven and "hardens" up. I hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This cake was very easy to make. It was extremely moist. A few people asked me for the recipe. Let the cake absorb the glaze before serving. Otherwise it will just pool in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States