Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
very VERY good! I make a lot of very tasty desserts but this one is my roommate's new favorite. I made it just as called for, but with the glaze mentioned in these reviews, and substituting Mocha Caramel liqueur for the kahlua / coffee liqueur (I hate coffee flavor). I also had to cook it for at least 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I used the butter/sugar/kalua mixture offered earlier as an alternative glaze, and my coworkers loved it!! I'm a big fan of sifting confectioner's sugar over something to make it look good, and this cake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
My office fights over the last piece of this cake and if I don't make it every few weeks someone will inevitably come and request it. This is an INCREDIBLE cake - takes no time to make and stays moist so it can easily be made a day or two ahead. What a fantastic recipe. I have not met anyone who does not rave, moan over this cake. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This is a wonderful, moist cake. My family does not drink, so I had to make some changes to the recipe. Instead of vodka, I used coffee and instead of coffee liquer, I used chocolate syrup. It turned out wonderful! I made it for my coworkers - it was gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. It was so moist and very flavorful. To be honest, I wouldn't change a thing. My friend asked for the recipe. She went home and made it that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
This was a good cake, but I was hoping for more of a Kahlua flavor. I don't think the vodka added anything, but I used it anyway. Of course this cake was super moist - it calls for a cup of oil! ;-) I should have poked bigger holes to let the glaze soak in. Also, didn't have a large box of pudding, so I used the small - wasn't missed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Mmmmm - this is SO good - and MOIST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Made this cake in 2 bundlette pans, making 12 mini cakes (baking time about 20-25 minutes). Used a small box (4 serving size) of chocolate instant pudding, added 2 Tbsp. of Hershey's unsweetened cocoa, and 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. Liked the glaze submitted by "tntkids". Immediately after removing pans from oven, divided glaze evenly over the cakes. Allowed cakes to cool in pans, about 30 minutes, while cakes absorbed glaze. Put each cake on a white plate, which had been dusted with cocoa. Served with coffee ice cream, garnished with chocolate covered expresso beans. Very good..will make again. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
So good!! I realized after I started mixing up ingredients that I only had a 3.9oz box of pudding mix, so I had to use that. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This cake was very easy to make. It was extremely moist. A few people asked me for the recipe. Let the cake absorb the glaze before serving. Otherwise it will just pool in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States