Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Hi-It is the night before Valentine's Day and I am preparing for a dinner party tomorrow night. I just baked this cake in a mini bundt pan shaped like roses. I put the glaze on each before I turned it out on the dishes. I used a wooden skewer instead of a fork to add the holes for the glaze. I found that the longer I let it cool in the pan after I added the glaze-the harder it was to turn the cakes out of the pan. So far, I have 5 good ones out of a six cake pan and I have 2 more in the oven right now. I am dusting the "roses" with 10x sugar and after they cool,I plan to wrap each dessert plate in clear cellophane. My guests will unwrap their "Valentine Roses" at dinnertime tomorrow evening. PS.I tasted the one that fell apart and the result is awesome! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALSART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I made this for my coworkers and it was a hit -- very moist and delicious, and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I made this for a party and everyone absolutely raved about it! A few people even begged for the recipe! I used water instead of the vodka because I had no vodka. I also used the glaze provided earlier in the reviews rather than the one in the recipe. Turned out wonderful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Two big thumbs up -- easy and absolutely delicious. I used a small box of choco pudding (that's all I had) and the cake was wonderful. Nice for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Excellent cake. Made it for my co-workers and everyone loved it. Also used the glaze mentioned in a previous review and added 6 oz. bag of chocolate chips to the batter and used the 4 oz. instant choc. pudding and reduced oil to 3/4 cup. Also, dusted on confectioner's sugar for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Fantastic!!!! I used tia maria and my family was very impressed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe was an instant hit with my quilting group. They all wanted the recipe. My friend adds 1 cup of mini chocolate chips to the batter for a little more chocolate flavor. I have also made this cake using vanilla pudding instead of the chocolate pudding and its still to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
very VERY good! I make a lot of very tasty desserts but this one is my roommate's new favorite. I made it just as called for, but with the glaze mentioned in these reviews, and substituting Mocha Caramel liqueur for the kahlua / coffee liqueur (I hate coffee flavor). I also had to cook it for at least 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I used the butter/sugar/kalua mixture offered earlier as an alternative glaze, and my coworkers loved it!! I'm a big fan of sifting confectioner's sugar over something to make it look good, and this cake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
My office fights over the last piece of this cake and if I don't make it every few weeks someone will inevitably come and request it. This is an INCREDIBLE cake - takes no time to make and stays moist so it can easily be made a day or two ahead. What a fantastic recipe. I have not met anyone who does not rave, moan over this cake. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States