Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
WOW, is this good! Serve this with homeade vanilla ice cream and you have a dessert that's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Great cake, easy additions to a box cake. I had to make 2 in two days! Added chips, cooked for 50 min and followed Brook20's Glaze. Even better the next day! Everyone wanted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This cake was easy to make and very tasty...my co-workers really enjoyed it. I garnished my cake with chocolate-covered espresso beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This cake is DIVINE!! Thank you Rory Kate! My friend made it for me for my birthday and I have made it again and again...and again. I suggest baking for 50 minutes, remove from pan for 20 minutes, place back in pain and pour the following over the bottom, let it soak in for an hour and then turn upright and dust with confectioners sugar. GLAZE: Blend 1/4 C. confectioners sugar with 1/4 stick melted butter and 1/4 C. Kahlua. The glaze recommended by TNTKIDS made my cake too wet (as though it wasn't cooked) This variation was just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Just steller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I'd make this again - the only thing I had to change was cooking time (40 minutes wasn't enough). Cake was moist and very dense/rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is really an incredible cake. I wanted to add my two cents to the raves on this recipe and also to the alternative glaze offered earlier. This is truly the best non-frosted cake I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bluestocking
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Have made this several times, varying the liquor and kind of cake mix, to rave reviews each time! Most recently, I used the glaze suggested by tntkids and added black cherry preserves (a generous dollop), using kirsh instead of kahlua in the glaze. It was a wonderful twist on the usual black forest theme, without all the glop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This cake in very moist and was a bit hit. Didnt have coffee liqueur so used expresso instead and end result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I have made this cake for years and just love it. I have made a few changes though. I bake the cake for 50-60 minutes, I use a deep chocolate cake mix to make the flavour more intense, I reduce the vodka by half and put more kalhua and I don't use a glaze and instead decorate the plate with carmel and raspberry sauce and a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States