Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This cake is DIVINE!! Thank you Rory Kate! My friend made it for me for my birthday and I have made it again and again...and again. I suggest baking for 50 minutes, remove from pan for 20 minutes, place back in pain and pour the following over the bottom, let it soak in for an hour and then turn upright and dust with confectioners sugar. GLAZE: Blend 1/4 C. confectioners sugar with 1/4 stick melted butter and 1/4 C. Kahlua. The glaze recommended by TNTKIDS made my cake too wet (as though it wasn't cooked) This variation was just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Just steller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I'd make this again - the only thing I had to change was cooking time (40 minutes wasn't enough). Cake was moist and very dense/rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is really an incredible cake. I wanted to add my two cents to the raves on this recipe and also to the alternative glaze offered earlier. This is truly the best non-frosted cake I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bluestocking
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Have made this several times, varying the liquor and kind of cake mix, to rave reviews each time! Most recently, I used the glaze suggested by tntkids and added black cherry preserves (a generous dollop), using kirsh instead of kahlua in the glaze. It was a wonderful twist on the usual black forest theme, without all the glop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This cake in very moist and was a bit hit. Didnt have coffee liqueur so used expresso instead and end result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I have made this cake for years and just love it. I have made a few changes though. I bake the cake for 50-60 minutes, I use a deep chocolate cake mix to make the flavour more intense, I reduce the vodka by half and put more kalhua and I don't use a glaze and instead decorate the plate with carmel and raspberry sauce and a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Everyone has raved about this recipe and they're absolutely right! This has to be one of the best bundt cakes I've ever made and I've received requests for the recipe. I did substitute the glaze that was suggested with the butter, Kahlua, etc. and it was perfect. The only thing I would suggest is to cook it longer than 40 minutes. I took the cake out at about 50 minutes and it wasn't quite done in the middle even though I tested it....very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I made this for my sister's Washington DC field trip. Really easy to make, really mositure texture, and not very sweet. I did some alternatives to it. I reduced oil to half cup, added half cup of unsweeted expresso and one cup of chopped fruit for a little bit of fiber . My sister thinks it is great. She ate 1 slice right after baking it and brought 6 slices to share with her friends. Everyone said it taste great. I did not like it that much as my sister did when it just came out of the oven. It has a scent of oil smell, maybe it is because I used canola oil, instead of vegetable oil. However, I try it after one night refregrating it, it tasts so great. I ate 4 slices with two cups of tea as my morning snack. Thank you, Rory. Really nice recipe. Definitely will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
The "best" cake I've ever had the pleasure to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States