Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This recipe was AMAZING!! I didn't have any milk, so I added powdered milk and more booze. Everyone LOVED this cake. Also, I added some melted chocolate to the glaze topping (whisk ALOT and will need more booze if you do this), so yummy! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Everyone loved it. I did the butter/sugar/vodka/coffee liq boiled glaze as suggested as well as mixed conf. sugar, butter, and coffee liq and glazed the top with that - it added a little sweet "crunch" when it harden. I asked if I should leave it off - and company said "no" Fam and friends have requested it again. Oh - I forgot, I also added 3/4 cup of chopped cho. chips. Mini chips would have worked better. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is a very moist cake and so easy. Great for any occasion and especially for chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
The cake is tasty, but it takes much longer than 40 minutes to cook. It took me 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I didn't use the vodka, or the coffee flavored liqueur...I brewed some cappucino and used that. It was VERY moist, everyone loved it. I did use the Kahlua/butter glaze that was posted earlier. That was divine. I'm going to try this with a different combination of flavors. I'm thinking white cake, white chocolate pudding, rasberry brandy instead of the coffee liqueur ... still working on a glaze :) Very good recipe, Rory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This cake earned rave reviews. Every last crumb was consumed by guests at the party I brought it to. People kept saying it was like the signature dessert at resturant. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Delicious! Here's my alterations: I used 1 c. of strong coffee in place of the 1/4 c of vodka and 3/4 c. water the recipe called for. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 c. I added 1/3 c. of Kahlua instead of 1/4 c it called for. I added 3/4's of bag of mini choc. chips. (Loved the texture it adds to the cake.) Finally, I glazed it with the "Satiny Choc. Glaze" recipe found on this site (which I thinned with a little cream.) This cake is decadent! ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This cake was incredible! I used chocolate cake mix with a small box of butterscotch pudding.. excellent!! I made this a day ahead of time and am glad I did.. I made 2 batches of glaze using 1/3 C each of butter, powdered sugar and Kahlua.. While still hot I poked holes all over the top (while still in pan) and poured glaze on.. Let sit for 5 minutes, if you wait longer than that the glaze will make the cake stick in the pan.. Take out of pan and center on a plate, make the same amount of glaze and pour over top of cake.. *Use a sifter to sprinkle the powdered sugar, it looks very professional! (however, wait until you are ready to serve the cake the next day, otherwise the wet glaze will obsorb the powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I have made this recipe over and over again and it is always gone within minutes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Shared with some restaurant employee friends of mine, they all loved it. Very moist with a unique flavor. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States