Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used dark chocolate cake mix, cut back to 1/4 cup sugar in base mix and added Ghiradelli cocoa powder to the glaze. I also plan on using Chambord (raspberry) liqueur in place of Kahua w/chocolate cake, orange liqueur w/orange cake and vanilla pudding. Try different combinations of cake mixes, different flavors of compatible liqueurs, and puddings for this very moist and versatile cake! Note: I took this cake up to my husband's fire station and they ate the entire cake in ONE night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was a hit last night! I cooked for 50 min, I used yellow cake but cant wait to try chocolate. Used the glaze from Brook and it wasnt perfect - not enough (and I doubled it) and not crunchy - next time I will try it like the recipe states. Yumm Yumm - a big hit with the girls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Wonderful!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
ABSOLUTELY fabulous!! I am sure it is a million carbs and grams of fat per serving...but no matter! It's def. the best cake ever! THANK you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good cake, and I will definitely make it again. I will try the "crunchy" glaze from another review. ALSO, I may cook it a bit longer; mine was right on the line between moist and under-cooked. OH, and I used one 3.9 oz. package of instant pudding mix, NOT 5.9 oz as called for b/c that's all I could find (and I didn't want to buy 2 and do the measurement). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This cake was great! I made it for my dad's birthday since he loves Black Russians. Everyone loved it, it disappeared fast. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was easy and tasty. I substituted chocolate cake mix for the yellow cake mix (because I'm a chocoholic). Nice for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
AWESOME!! I've made this twice already in the last week! Everyone LOVES it! The cake is very moist and has a wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this in my new mini-bundt pan (6 bundts in each pan). It came out really moist and I found 25min was the perfect amount of time (since they are smaller). For each mini-bundt, I used 1/2 c of the batter. It made an even 12 bundts! I used the same glaze as some of the previous reviewers used. It was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States