Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I don't know what went wrong here. The only direction I did not follow is the amount of time it said to mix the cake. I only mixed maybe two minutes so I wouldn't get a tough cake. In any case The middle never cooked. I kept extending the bake time by five minutes until I hit 55 minutes. By that time the outside had burned and it was still raw in the middle. I don't know what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Stephanie Knewasser
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I used water instead of vodka. Still wonderful. I put the cake back in the pan after poking it with holes. Slowly pour the glaze over cake. Let cake set in pan for an hour to absorb glaze. Rich & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was decent. Next time I might add a frosting instead of just a glaze. It seemed pretty plain, but it's chocolate so you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I've been making this cake for 30 years and it consistently gets rave reviews from friends, family and guests. I find that mine usually need to bake from 55 to 60 minutes, though, to keep from having soggy spots in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This cake is DELICIOUS!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. It is SO MOIST! It doesn't have a strong liqueur flavor. It's SOOO GOOD. Thanks so much for this recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This cake is awesome. Very moist and tasty. I made it for a friend's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe was really good. I have been looking for a Black Russian Cake recipe like one that was made for my Christmas office party by a co-worker. I did everything exactly. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
i brought this to work and all i heard were ooooooo's and ahhhhh's i used devil's food , choc pudding and a little extra kalula ,and used the glaze that was recommened in the reviews !!! thank you thankyou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This didn't do anything for me. I didn't think it was that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used dark chocolate cake mix, cut back to 1/4 cup sugar in base mix and added Ghiradelli cocoa powder to the glaze. I also plan on using Chambord (raspberry) liqueur in place of Kahua w/chocolate cake, orange liqueur w/orange cake and vanilla pudding. Try different combinations of cake mixes, different flavors of compatible liqueurs, and puddings for this very moist and versatile cake! Note: I took this cake up to my husband's fire station and they ate the entire cake in ONE night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States