Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was decent. Next time I might add a frosting instead of just a glaze. It seemed pretty plain, but it's chocolate so you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I've been making this cake for 30 years and it consistently gets rave reviews from friends, family and guests. I find that mine usually need to bake from 55 to 60 minutes, though, to keep from having soggy spots in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This cake is DELICIOUS!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. It is SO MOIST! It doesn't have a strong liqueur flavor. It's SOOO GOOD. Thanks so much for this recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This cake is awesome. Very moist and tasty. I made it for a friend's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe was really good. I have been looking for a Black Russian Cake recipe like one that was made for my Christmas office party by a co-worker. I did everything exactly. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
i brought this to work and all i heard were ooooooo's and ahhhhh's i used devil's food , choc pudding and a little extra kalula ,and used the glaze that was recommened in the reviews !!! thank you thankyou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This didn't do anything for me. I didn't think it was that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used dark chocolate cake mix, cut back to 1/4 cup sugar in base mix and added Ghiradelli cocoa powder to the glaze. I also plan on using Chambord (raspberry) liqueur in place of Kahua w/chocolate cake, orange liqueur w/orange cake and vanilla pudding. Try different combinations of cake mixes, different flavors of compatible liqueurs, and puddings for this very moist and versatile cake! Note: I took this cake up to my husband's fire station and they ate the entire cake in ONE night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was a hit last night! I cooked for 50 min, I used yellow cake but cant wait to try chocolate. Used the glaze from Brook and it wasnt perfect - not enough (and I doubled it) and not crunchy - next time I will try it like the recipe states. Yumm Yumm - a big hit with the girls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Wonderful!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States