Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This has been a family favorite for a long time. The only change I would recommend is skipping the confectioner's sugar/coffee liqueur drizzle/frosting as it is completely unnecessary...and makes the cake gooey. This cake is moist enough (and incredibly delicious) without the addition after baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This has been a staple of my recipe collection for years. It's easy and elegant. I always keep the ingredients on hand. I usually serve it warm with a spoonfull of fresh berries and a dollop of whipped cream, then I just wait for the complements. But, let's give credit where credit is due! This recipe was originally published in the Byerly's of Minneapolis Cookbook. I purchased that cookbook on a visit to the Byerly Cooking School nearly twenty years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
We love this cake. It is a block party staple. If I ever go to a party/potluck without it, I catch a bunch of grief. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cake was delicious. I used the glaze mentioned in the reviews, but modified it so that there was more kaluah: 1/2 c kaluah, 1/4 c conf sugar and 1/4 c butter. I boiled it, drizzled half on the cake while it was still in the pan and the other half when the cake was out of the pan so that the top of the cake would be moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I didn't get to try this because it was gone so fast. Many people complimented me on it. I didn't use a bundt pan but should have--the bottom burnt while the top was still baking, but I just sliced the bottom off. I didn't have vodka so I substituted more coffee liquor. It was a hit so it must have been delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful cake, but next time I will leave out the vodka completely. Way too strong with the amount listed in the ingredients. I felt like I was drinking a shot of vodka instead of eating cake. Otherwise, without the vodka, this cake is delicious. Very moist and tasty. I couldn't really taste the coffee liquor because of the overpowering taste of the vodka, but I wouldn't increase the amount of the liquor, only omit the vodka as stated before. I did check after the stated cooking time and the middle wasn't finished so overall I did have to go for 55-60 minutes as others have said. At that point, though, it was perfect. I also left off the glaze since I felt the glaze would be too strong for my daughter to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This cake is so easy to make and everyone loves it! I have made it 5-6 times now and it has taken a while to figure out the timing/temp. of the oven as well as the correct pan for it as well. I use a 10 inch bunt and keep it at the temp. the recipe calls for. The thing to remember is that b/c of the pudding in it, you want it to be a bit more soft in the middle....so even if you take it out, it tends to cook a while after it is out of the oven and "hardens" up. I hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have made this cake several times, and each time with rave reviews! It is moist with a wonderful flavor. I have made it even richer with a chocolate glaze. I take it to the office a lot, people think they are drinking on the job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I added extra Kahlua--Yummy! Very moist. Took it to a dinner party and it was history in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This cake is excellent as is but I've made this cake so many times over the years I've learned some things that don't necessarily improve on it but also don't hurt it. First, I accidentally used the smaller box of chocolate pudding which works out just as well - not quite as chocolatey but very good. I also now leave out the vodka and the sugar without any change in the texture. Make sure to use a cake mix that doesn't have pudding in the mix already or you can wind up with a very dense flat cake. Lastly, you can tweak the final amount of liquer to taste. 1/2 cup of powdered sugar with 1/2 cup of liquer is very strong. As is it's good but a little weak. I've found 3/8 cup of powd. sugar and liquer works best for most people's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States