Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've made this cake five + times now. It's a huge hit. Baking time for the bundt pan is increased by 15 or more minutes. For the 'glaze' I mix 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 3/4 stick of real butter, 1/4 cup of chocolate chips, 1/4 cup of coffee liquer - warm in skillet until totally incorporated - poke toothpick holes in cake and poor glaze on top. Holy smokes... did I mention how fantastic this is?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I do them as cupcakes and cook them for 15-20 minutes-SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Just took another Black Russian cake out of the oven. It is an often requested item in our house and at get togethers. The only changes that I make is that I add more Kahlua than called for and cut back a smidge on the oil and water to compensate. Also, can't seem to find the 5.9 ounce package of pudding so I just use 1 1/2 of the small packages. The cooking time definitely needs to be extended. It takes about an hour to bake. Excellent recipe and delicious cake! Thank you! We will be enjoying it again tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! I used about half a cup of yogurt and cut down on the oil to about 2/3 cup to make it a bit healthier, and used splenda instead of sugar. I was running very late so I didn't get to make the glaze (let the thing cool in the pan in the car on the way over) but used a dollop of coolwhip instead. I plan on making it again with the glaze when I have more time since I think it took longer to bake than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake is wonderful. Because of time I made it a week ahead, but waited on the glaze. It was the hit of the party. Extremely moist and delicious. Also, made it as a White Russian Cake using Vanilla pudding, liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever eaten. Moist and full of flavor ! Hightly recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've made this cake numerous times...just recently when visiting relatives for Christmas 2009...they all loved it. Very easy, moist and chocolaty. Make sure to use a 10" bundt pan; had to borrow a bundt pan which was too small so cake ran over but still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious, and this cake gets BETTER if you let it set for a day to really soak in the glaze! Just be sure to wrap it in Syran wrap or similar. My dear friend had made these for special events, and it became sort of a standing joke how much I loved them. I got married this past June, and instead of opting for traditional white cake, I asked Amy if she would make these cakes as centerpieces for each table. She did a truly amazing job - making 30 cakes!! It was so funny to see people not overly excited about a bundt cake, and then go back for thirds and fourths once they tasted it. :D:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Awesome Cake! I've had so many compliments on this cake. My Mom even asked me to make it for her to take to a potluck. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This has been a family favorite for a long time. The only change I would recommend is skipping the confectioner's sugar/coffee liqueur drizzle/frosting as it is completely unnecessary...and makes the cake gooey. This cake is moist enough (and incredibly delicious) without the addition after baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States