Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
A superbly magnificent cake that will have its splendor indulged when accompanied by THIS glaze, instead of the given one. Also, chocolate chips are a wonderful addition to the cake itself. 1 stick butter 1/4 cup kahlua 1/4 cup water 1 cup sugar put all in a medium-large saucepan and boil for two to three minutes(it will get big while boiling so be careful, you can use a humongous pot if you wish) then just put it on the cake, still in the pan, as soon as you take the cake out of the oven and let it soak in for a half hour. It will be extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. I am always asked to make it, and it is so quick and simple to make. I sprinkle on a little icing sugar afterwards and it looks professional. It's amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was fantastic! I made it as a birthday cake for my boyfriend's mother and it went over very well. The only change I would make is in the glaze. After sifting the powdered sugar over this cake it soaked in and didn't look very pretty. The sugar on the cake turned a brown color and all around the cake plate was white icing sugar. Also, the glaze mixture didn't cover the entire cake. I think next time I will add 1/4 cup more powdered sugar to the glaze and skip sifting the powdered sugar over the top entirely. My boyfriend suggested that next time it might look better if after putting the clear glaze on and letting it cool, that I make a second glaze in a thick white or chocolate and pour it over the top so that the edges drizzle down. I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
VERY moist. My family fights over who gets to claim this as THEIR favorite cake. It's always requested at birthday time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This cake is very delicious! I will definitely be making this cake again. This is a great recipe and a very easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This cake is so moist and amazing! The taste of alcohol is not overwhelming, but it does have an adult taste to it. I made small holes inthe cake before adding the glaze and the cake soaked it up. I thought the cake would be soggy the next day, but it was great. The cake also freezes well. My husband and I wanted cake when it was just the two of us and I knew we'd eat it all so I cut it in slices and put it in freezer bags. I defrosted it onthe counter for a couple of hours and it was just as good as when fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
A total hit! A great bound cake and super moist. Everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
can anyone tell me if I freeze the cake before glazing or after?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This cake was very tasty and easy. I also used a pastry brush to "baste" on the glaze slowly. Next time, I think I will start with a chocolate cake mix, but that's just because I'm a total chocolate fiend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
It is sweet and rich. Mixing the ingredients for 4 minutes is way too excessive. It made the batter rise too high and spill over. About half the batter spilled over. However, the end result is a good cake. Moist, thick, and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States