Black Russian Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This cake is always a request for a family members birthday. Mine looks a lot different from the one shown, but the recipe is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was a very moist cake! I made some healthy subs with 2 eggs & 2 egg whites, half applesauce & half oil, and mostly splenda rather than sugar and you couldn't tell. I made the glaze as is despite other reviews and thought it added to the moistness of the cake. I also used Cake flavored vodka rather than regular which was delicious. I would make this again, but in addition to the glaze that soaks in, I'd likely make a frosting for the top. It's very versatile and I've already made a 2nd one using chocolate liqueur & chocolate vodka with a chocolate cake mix - haven't cut into it yet, but expect it to be just as moist & tasty! ---Wanted to add my 2nd one with chocolate liqueur & choc vodka was AMAZING - everyone raved and I even liked it and I'm not a chocolate cake person - this will be my go-to chocolate cake!! I used chocolate buttercream frosting (in addition to the glaze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I did not get to taste it, so not sure about how many stars I should give. I made it for a Dessert Dash for the school auction, I thought it would be a fun item for the right group. I had a hard time with it when I took it out of the oven though! I turned it upside down too soon and it crumbled. Wait until it cools!!! I frosted it and decorated it strategically with partially sliced strawberries, but hope others will heed my hasty mistake and let it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this cake. I make a low fat modification by using applesauce instead of oil, and left out the extra sugar, and personally because I love chocolate so much I use dark chocolate cake mix instead of yellow, but i could never remember exactly how much of the other things to add...and one of my friends made this cake years ago and I lost the recipe. Just brought it to work today for an office lunch party and it received rave reviews, and multiple requests to have it made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This recipe has been in my family for at least 40 years and I use a bundt pan and I use 1/4 C. Kahlua & Vodka. Everyone thinks this cake is one of the best and it's so easy. My recipe dosn't call for sugar. The last time I made I used 7 minute frosting and it was a wow. Not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I won a best dessert award with this. I also have brought a cake like this to several birthday parties, and everyone has loved it. So good! For the topping, I mix chocolate frosting with Kaluha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is a great cake, that I have made several times. Everyone loves it. The coffee liquor sure does add the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe didn't work very well for me. The consistency was very weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CELINAK
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
very good cake. easy to make, it really rises a lot with the pudding in the mix and makes a lot. I made cupcakes- it made 12 cupcakes and i filled a loaf pan too and made a small cake. i followed others advice about the glaze - adding a bit of butter (i only used a half stick) and to make it a bit less caloric i halfed splenda with the sugar and applesauce with the oil and used a light butter. delicious and the house smelled wonderful! great cake and a bit unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake has made me famous. I found several years ago and have been making it several times a year ever since. It does not need to be changed in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States