Black Pepper Goat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made as written and everything tasted amazing. Definitely not to spicy. As other commenters have noted, curry powder is not the same as curry leaves. Substituting it for curry leaves will not give you a similar dish because they are different! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
this was very good. i was afraid of the amount of spices so i cut back a little. even doing that it still had quite a bite to it. i know what our limits are and this was perfect for us as i made it. if i do make it again, i'll use lamb, as the goat i used was a little too fatty. thanks for the post Tarama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Loved it! Added diced carrots and substituted nutmeg for ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was our first time eating goat meat and the first time making a curry. We thought the recipe was delicious, however very hot! My husband can tolerate hot and spicy food and he also found it too hot. We are going to experiment and add some yogurt to try to cool down the leftovers and next time reduce the cayenne pepper. We used the fresh curry leaves and thought the paste was excellent. We plan to try this recipe again with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
this was very good! i substituted curry leaves for a combination of bay leaves and dried basil only because i didn't have curry leaves but still it was really yummy i didn't find it too spicy at all. Nice tomato flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
We really enjoyed this! We only used one TBSP of cayenne pepper and found the heat just about perfect. One thing I will change next time is grinding the peppercorns by themselves; for some reason my grinder left most of them whole and they were pretty chewy. All in all, a great recipe, just make sure you have a big batch of raita handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The texture and color remind me of my favorite dishes at my local Berkeley Pakistani restaurant. I used less than half the recommended spices and it was too spicy for me. Meat was a bit tough (maybe needed to cook longer) but the taste was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
We are not light weights in the spice department but even after cutting back dramatically based on other reviews, this was just too spicy for us. Unfortunately, with spices so overpowering, we could not even taste the locally raised goat I got at the farmer’s market. This is the first time in years I can remember having to trash a meal and make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great recipe! Nice and spicy. In reading the other comments, thought I'd share that curry powder, which is a blend of many spices, is NOT the same as curry leaf (which is, well, a leaf). If you use curry powder, you will get a different flavour than what is intended in the orginial recipe (not bad, just different - and likely more spicy). Also, if you do find it too spicy, you can stir some plain yogurt in to the curry to tone it down. Overall, very yummy (with curry leaf OR curry powder)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was a great dish and had a good amount of heat to it, the way I like it...A few of the changes I made were, to do the dish in the crock pot for six hours. I liquefied two onions in the food processor and then added all of the seasonings. I browned the goat meat after dredging in seasoned flour, first, then put everything in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekaddo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States