Black Pepper Goat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This recipe really is superlative. Here's how I make the curry paste without a blender: Grate an onion (this is easier and takes less time than you'd expect). Grind two tablespoons of black pepper (don't reduce the black pepper--it's too distinctive to the recipe's flavor). Cook the onion on medium for two minutes. Then add the ground black pepper and cook for four minutes. Then add the coriander and curry powder (I used two tablespoons in place of the curry leaves) and cook for one more minute. Throughout this process, add up to one cup of water as needed to keep things from sticking to the pan. After that, proceed with the recipe as written. In order to reduce spiciness, I cut the cayenne pepper in half. I'm also guessing (although I don't know) that two tablespoons of curry powder is less hot than a half cup of curry leaves. With these reductions, the recipe was still almost too spicy for my taste buds, so many might want to go down to a tablespoon of curry powder and half tablespoon of cayenne. Adding spinach at the end of the simmering process worked pretty well for me as a way to add some vegetable to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
**Caution** Recipe AS IS is very, very spicy! This recipe had a good flavor, but the spiciness was just too much even after I reduced the amount of Cayenne Pepper to 1.5 Tbsp. and the Salt to only 1.5 tsp. And instead of fresh Curry Leaves I used 1 Tbsp. Curry Powder. I will probably make this recipe again with even less Cayenne Pepper. I'm sure it would be even better with lamb! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was really delicious. My husband orders goat curry when we eat out, and he thought it tasted as good as the restaurant. I omitted the cayenne pepper - it was plenty spicy with the peppercorns. One of my three kids liked it, but the other two thought it was too spicy. Next time, I will decrease the peppercorns by 1/2 to suit their tastebuds. I also used 1 Tbsp curry powder instead of the leaves. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great recipe! Nice and spicy. In reading the other comments, thought I'd share that curry powder, which is a blend of many spices, is NOT the same as curry leaf (which is, well, a leaf). If you use curry powder, you will get a different flavour than what is intended in the orginial recipe (not bad, just different - and likely more spicy). Also, if you do find it too spicy, you can stir some plain yogurt in to the curry to tone it down. Overall, very yummy (with curry leaf OR curry powder)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was a great dish and had a good amount of heat to it, the way I like it...A few of the changes I made were, to do the dish in the crock pot for six hours. I liquefied two onions in the food processor and then added all of the seasonings. I browned the goat meat after dredging in seasoned flour, first, then put everything in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekaddo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Is soo good!!! Has the flavor that I was looking for, very spicy & full with flavor; love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Indeed this curry will be very spicy. I used only 1 tsp. of black pepper and no other pepper, yet it was quite spicy. Next time I will use lesser pepper. Oh, I did not even make this curry with goat meat, instead boca burger as I am vegetarian. Though, I am sure, that this original will taste quite good if you can take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
We are not light weights in the spice department but even after cutting back dramatically based on other reviews, this was just too spicy for us. Unfortunately, with spices so overpowering, we could not even taste the locally raised goat I got at the farmer’s market. This is the first time in years I can remember having to trash a meal and make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was our first time eating goat meat and the first time making a curry. We thought the recipe was delicious, however very hot! My husband can tolerate hot and spicy food and he also found it too hot. We are going to experiment and add some yogurt to try to cool down the leftovers and next time reduce the cayenne pepper. We used the fresh curry leaves and thought the paste was excellent. We plan to try this recipe again with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
this was very good! i substituted curry leaves for a combination of bay leaves and dried basil only because i didn't have curry leaves but still it was really yummy i didn't find it too spicy at all. Nice tomato flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Pea Curry with Black Cod

Sugar snap pea sauce with seared black cod and strawberry garnish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States