Black Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family makes these with white icing on top. We are italian and it is Christmas must have. Makes the whole house smell good. Do not be afraid of the pepper, it just adds to the spice of the cookie and is not overpowering. Everyone loves these. Our recipe has cocoa too. Chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Do NOT hesitate to make these! They are sooooo good! They are wonderfully spicy and the pepper adds something really wonderful. My husband was skeptical and a little worried when I told him that I was making black pepper cookies, but he actually loved them. I made them exactly as written, except for the citron since I couldn't find any. These are so flavorful, I can't imagine they even need it, but I'm sure it would be great if I do happen to find some. These cookies are loaded with raisins, almost too many (just my opinion). I might only use 2 cups for my next batch, but this is just my own preference. These are fantastic cookies-I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wicked good. In place of raisins and candied citron, I used what I had at home: dried cranberries, dried apricots and crystallized ginger. I made them for my husband to take on a fishing trip with his friends. They all loved them and one friend said he could eat nothing but these cookies for the rest of his life and be happy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I own a country market/bakery and was asked by a customer for Black Pepper Cookies for Christmas. I choose this recipe and omitted the citron. Only drizzled icing over the cookies when cooled. These had a great spicey flavor with a crunchy outside but wonderfully soft inside. The customer who ordered them said they were very much like she remembered from her childhood in Germany. Other customers said they will be a cookie that they will ask for again next year when they place their cookie tray orders. Thanks for making my life simpler with this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Even my husband, who doesn't like fruit in cookies, loves these! I doubled the amount of citron and subbed allspice and nutmeg for the cloves (sadly I discovered halfway through the recipe that I only had whole cloves), and used freshly ground black pepper. In the future I would use 3/4 or even 1 tsp pepper - I loved the aromatic flavor it provided!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Really good cookies. I coudn't taste the pepper in them, but alot of people could. I added a little bit of chocolate chips and not as many raisans as it called for because I was bringing it to a bbq with kids, but they went very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow A cookie with no fat that is actually good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have made these at Christmas many times; they are a German recipe, called Pfefferneuse(sp?). I rolled out the dough and cut them into Christmas cookie shapes, then made a decorator frosting and just piped the white frosting around the edges of the cookie just to emphasize the shape and add a bit of sweetness. Always a big hit! A great spicy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I was looking for a cookie recipe that I could make to bring somewhere that I could enjoy as well. I'm always watching my weight so i wanted a low fat cookie that didn't taste low fat. I tried this recipe and these cookies are fantastic. This recipe will definately become one of my signature dishes from now on. I couldn't find candied citron so i made my own version by boiling lemon peals and then simmering them in simple syrup (1 c sugar, 1 cup water) for about 20 minutes. Everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Out of all the different types of cookies I made for Christmas, these were the most popular. It was good to have a cookie that was a bit different from the rest. Very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States