Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I've made this several times now and it's a new family favorite. I use a pound of beef and a whole cabbage for four people. I make it even simpler by omitting the bell pepper and not thickening the sauce. Also, I put the lid on for a while to let the cabbage cook down and soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Wow...so good! I just made this tonight and hubby and I loved it. I heated the oil with red pepper flakes (lots for heat) added grated carrots and a little bit of hoisin sauce (homemade). I also added a beef bullion cube to the water before adding the corn starch. I served these over plain romaine noodles and they knocked our socks off! Thank you so much for the recipe....I may be able to cook afterall. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Great recipe. I used sesame oil and thin sirloin steak cut into strips. At the table each person added more pepper and soy sauce to taste. We served it over rice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this with home-canned venison. FAST dinner and was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This turned out quite well, although I did add an onion and doubled the sauce. I had to use an orange pepper in lieu of the red (store had no red). Served with asian noodles and fried rice. Thanks for sharing this tasty and economical recipe, LI-ANN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I did like this recipe but found it lackluster ... Second Round: added a TBSP of fish sauce to the meat (1/2 ground Pork 1/2 beef) before frying ... added 1/2 tsp ginger with garlic after browning meat and instead of water broth. A hit of sriracha at the end and that brought the rating up to 4.5 and made it a keeper ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have to be honest, I didn't notice that this was a ground beef recipe until I read a 3 star review of it. I used strips of beef precut for stir fry at the grocery store, and was sadly out of red pepper. I also live with someone who has some very strict requirements sodium-wise in her diet. That means that this had too much soy sauce for me to safely prepare, and I had to substitute worcestershire sauce instead. It was really fantastic, and I don't even like cabbage! I used bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The recipe says 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. You will need quite a bit more than that! Also, reduce the amount of water you use or increase the amount of cornstarch. My boyfriend loved it, I thought it was good, but not great. It works with the hamburger which surprised me.Its a good base recipe, and you can play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Uher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This stuff tastes GREAT served with white rice and a little bit more soy sauce drizzled over it. I've made this two or three times now! Love it! I can't remember if it says to add onion or not but I always put onion in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this even though my husband was against the cabbage. I added an onion, Worcestershire sauce, substituted ground turkey, and doubled the cabbage. Served it over jasmine rice. My husband just loved it and now asks me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States