Black Pasta in a Pink Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
To start, i will say that I enjoyed eating this recipe. It was like eating Gorgonzola and It is one of my favorite cheeses. That being said, the cheese and prosciutto completely overpower the delicate sweetness of the squid ink pasta. It was far too rich and needed more acid to make the sauce balanced. I am glad I tried the recipe, but would not do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
served this sauce with butternut squash raviolli. Very good. next time I make it, I would reduce the amount of liquid (wine and chicken broth). I simmered for 20minutes and it was still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was absolutely amazing. Super easy to prepare. I used serrano ham "taquitos"; diced yummy bits of serrano ham. I live in Spain so these ingredients were easy to come by. As is always the case with squid ink pasta, it really doesn't bring anyhting to the dish other than the striking color. I did toss on top some roasted shrimp that I marinated in garlic, smoked hot paprika, s&p, olive oil and a little lemon juice. A nice compliment to the finished dish. Surf and Turf. A definite do over in our home, albeit not too often as it is very rich....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My brother made this for me and my dad maybe... 5 years ago. It was DIVINE! I didn't have any tomato paste so I used sun dried tomatoes. Only thing different was the consistency. Otherwise, P.E.R.F.E.C.T!!! I LOVE gorgonzola!! I omitted the prosciutto only because I was using shrimp (yummies) and next time I'll use baby squid. God I could just kiss you this recipe is so AMAZING! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KokinaGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this very much. I followed the directions exactly and didn't change anything. I would say do not salt the water because it is a salty dish as is. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
SOOOO GOOD! It was a great change up in my menu. I used half and half instead of milk and used sundried tomatoes instead of tomato paste. The sauce was a bit too thin for me so I added about a half cup of ricotta cheese. I think that the amount of gorgonzola can be reduced some, especially for those who have never eaten it before. the ricotta also helped cut some of the gorgonzola's sharpness. This was just such a great dish. I also used spinach fettuccine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good, Clyde! I didn't have the black ink squid pasta, but it doesn't impress me. I just used spaghetti- which would have altered the taste IMO. I made this exactly as written with the exception of only having 8oz of Gorgonzola- I can not imagine it with 16oz- I think that would be all you taste. It is good and rich and even my 14 yo liked it, but she LOVES blue cheese:) I will make this again on a limited basis just because it is rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Thought this was a great recipe and a nice change to my normal pasta routine. Since I live in France, most of these ingredients were very easy to find, so I did not have some of the same problems as other users. My only negative remark was the prosciutto. Next time I will add it towards the end as I felt like it was over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by artisanrox
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I halved the recipe as I was only cooking for my mother and myself, and there was still plenty of sauce left. I also omitted the prosciutto and substituted mushrooms. And in all, this turned out to be very good, if very much on the salty side. I had to put in a lot of pepper to counter the saltiness. if I made this again I'd definitely use low sodium stock. The sauce was very thick, which I really enjoyed! And the black pasta made it look very pretty. Even though my mom wouldn't eat the black pasta (I made separate plain spaghetti for her), she actually really liked the sauce, which surprised me. I'll definitely try some suggestions in the reviews...sun dried tomatoes and pine nuts sound wonderful with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Pretty good, I would have loved to try it with pine nuts! I added more prosciutto than the recipe called for and that just made it all the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States