Black Pasta in a Pink Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Intriguing ingredients... Fashion-forward color combo... Urban-chic name: "Squid-Ink Pasta with Pink Gorgonzola Sauce." This recipe sets up high expectations immediately -- and the dish delivers deliciously. The hardest part about preparing this is finding squid-ink pasta, which of course, tastes nothing like squid. It's worth the effort, though -- sans black pasta, it's just Pasta with Pink Sauce. (A rich, full-bodied pink sauce, admittedly ... but the dish just won't present as dramatically as it can.) That said ... some people (like my dear, but daunted dad) simply will not accept unusually colored food, no matter how tasty. In that case, you might want to go the uncolored pasta route, and dress the plate up with, say, fan-shaped strawberry garnishes or a little unexpected something else. When I make this dish again, I might stir in some pine nuts for texture, but otherwise, wouldn't change a thing. And that includes the pasta color! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
REALLY nice sauce. to fit my menu, I substituted shrimp and mushroom for the proscuitto and served over spinach fett. Rave reviews from everyone! Thank you for the creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was really tasty and very easy to make. I only changed three things. 1) I didn't have shallots so I used onion chopped very fine instead. 2) I used a sodium free chicken bouillion packet in a cup of water in replace of the chicken stock. 3)I only had a 5 oz package of gorgonzola cheese. But it was enough even though the recipe called for 8 ozs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I have to say i did not enjoy this recipe very much, i followed it exactly, but I thought it had a bitter after taste. It might be just me, my husband thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this very much. I followed the directions exactly and didn't change anything. I would say do not salt the water because it is a salty dish as is. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Thought this was a great recipe and a nice change to my normal pasta routine. Since I live in France, most of these ingredients were very easy to find, so I did not have some of the same problems as other users. My only negative remark was the prosciutto. Next time I will add it towards the end as I felt like it was over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Black squid ink pasta can be found at Pasta and Company in Seattle area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
AWESOME!!! I love the colors, and the taste is phenominal. I omitted the tomato paste, and used sundried tomatoes instead. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
SOOOO GOOD! It was a great change up in my menu. I used half and half instead of milk and used sundried tomatoes instead of tomato paste. The sauce was a bit too thin for me so I added about a half cup of ricotta cheese. I think that the amount of gorgonzola can be reduced some, especially for those who have never eaten it before. the ricotta also helped cut some of the gorgonzola's sharpness. This was just such a great dish. I also used spinach fettuccine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I couldn't find squid ink pasta at the grocery store so I used regular bowtie pasta. Despite this change, it was amazing!! Sprinkled it with some shredded Italian blend cheese and watched it disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States