Black Pasta in a Pink Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
VERY good pasta. I had rave reviews when I made it. Some of the ingredients CAN be hard to find. However- if anyone lives near a SuperTarget I found both the squid ink pasta and the fresh basil there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was really tasty and very easy to make. I only changed three things. 1) I didn't have shallots so I used onion chopped very fine instead. 2) I used a sodium free chicken bouillion packet in a cup of water in replace of the chicken stock. 3)I only had a 5 oz package of gorgonzola cheese. But it was enough even though the recipe called for 8 ozs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I have to say i did not enjoy this recipe very much, i followed it exactly, but I thought it had a bitter after taste. It might be just me, my husband thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was just ok for me. It really wasn't worth the effort with finding the Black pasta (Which can be found at Liberty heights fresh in Salt Lake City) and my local grocery store didn't have the gorgonzola cheese, so I went to three different places, and I also don't think I'm a fan of the gorgonzola either.. so it might just be me. My husband did like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I couldn't find squid ink pasta at the grocery store so I used regular bowtie pasta. Despite this change, it was amazing!! Sprinkled it with some shredded Italian blend cheese and watched it disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
REALLY nice sauce. to fit my menu, I substituted shrimp and mushroom for the proscuitto and served over spinach fett. Rave reviews from everyone! Thank you for the creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Black squid ink pasta can be found at Pasta and Company in Seattle area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Yummy, Great flavor, I used Vegetable broth because that was all I had around the house. It was a bit salty, so I would use low sodium broth next time. I also did not find or use squid ink pasta, I used whole wheat pasta and it was perfect. Thanks, this is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Really a delicious sauce! I didn't stress myself out by trying to find the black pasta...mainly because my kids would have freaked! It was a tad bit salty for my taste,,,must have been the gorgonzola...I may scale back a bit on that next time,,but we loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Intriguing ingredients... Fashion-forward color combo... Urban-chic name: "Squid-Ink Pasta with Pink Gorgonzola Sauce." This recipe sets up high expectations immediately -- and the dish delivers deliciously. The hardest part about preparing this is finding squid-ink pasta, which of course, tastes nothing like squid. It's worth the effort, though -- sans black pasta, it's just Pasta with Pink Sauce. (A rich, full-bodied pink sauce, admittedly ... but the dish just won't present as dramatically as it can.) That said ... some people (like my dear, but daunted dad) simply will not accept unusually colored food, no matter how tasty. In that case, you might want to go the uncolored pasta route, and dress the plate up with, say, fan-shaped strawberry garnishes or a little unexpected something else. When I make this dish again, I might stir in some pine nuts for texture, but otherwise, wouldn't change a thing. And that includes the pasta color! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States