Black Out Cake from the Fifties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I bake a lot and have never before given a recipe a bad review when everyone else gave great reviews. However, I can't believe I am reading the same recipe as the other reviewers. First, the cooking time was way too long. I took out the cake at exactly 30 minutes (at 350 degrees measured by my oven thermometer) and it was crunchy and burnt. Check it at about 22 minutes to avoid this problem. Second, slicing the layers in half was a nightmare(with the dental floss method) and created a huge mess. 3) There were WAY too many crumbs. Instead, I would reocommend making maybe two cupcakes--it would save the slicing hassle and reduce waste. 4) The reciepe is inconsistent in that in the ingredients list it lists 3 squares of chocolate for the filling, but in the instructions it asks for 4 squares (hopefully someone will fix this). 5) I went the conservative route and put three squares of chocolate in the filling and it was WAY TOO MUCH. The filling and the cake together were really bitter, as cakes go. I guess if you're a chocoholic who doesn't really like desserts, that might be appealing. I would either REDUCE the chocolate to maybe 1 or 2 squares or INCREASE the sugar to counteract the bitterness (But I'm not sure what effect that would have on the consistency of the filling). I used to have black-out cake from a local bakery and LOVED it. I have been searching for the recipe that would replicate that taste. This deifinitely isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Cake was excellent! For some reason though the recipe provider aaded a few very un-necessary extra steps. It is totally unnecessary to use a separate bowl to mix just the milk and cocoa powder. Just mix in the cocoa w/ the flour mixture and the milk in with the sugar/shortening mixture. That eliminates one bowl to wash and one extra step which is needless. Also, when making the frosting it is unnecessary to use melted chocolate. Just use Cooa powder. It's easier and again one less step and one less item to clean. Unless you don;t have cocoa powder and already have baking chocolate. It tastes the same and it takes less time and space. Hey, the less steps and cleanign the better, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was a HUGE hit at a birthday party recently. My husband's girlfriend wanted a rich, crumb covered, chocolate cake & this more than fit the bill. I would be happy to make this for any special occasion. The birthday girl and a lot of the guests at the party thought I had gone to a fancy bakery to have this made. Too bad, I just keep forgetting to tell them the name of the restaurant! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is an excellent choice for any chocolate lover. I actually used a smaller spring form pan and made two small two layer cakes. It is a very rich, moist cake. While it seems like a complicated recipe, it was actually very simple to make. The end result is quite impressive - especially if you drizzle white chocolate on top and have crumbs only on the sides. My boyfriend was quite impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This a prettyngood cake. Definately for the chocolate lover, however it is the icing and filling that gives it the flavor the actual cake is very light on chocolatyness. Also, my cake did not turn out moist as described, i kept an eye on it and took it out of the oven just shy of 30 minutes. It was better after chilled over night. I did not find it as labor intensive as other reviewers, I did study the recipe to find steps to omit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Instead of baking 2 cakes I baked 3 small ones and cut the baking time...The only trouble I had was the frosting was a little runny...Guess I needed to cut the liquids too. However it was the best cake I have ever baked...delicious, very rich though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I didn't feel comfortable using the raw egg frosting, so I made double the pudding and used it to frost the cake as well. The crumbs stuck well and it was absolutely delicious!! I think it tastes best cold. Reminds me of dobash cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this cake at home because I'm a Chocolate lover... I'm not a cook so I accidentally used regular granulated sugar for the frosting, and it was great, a little crunchy but my family, friends and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe was a lot of work and created a big mess in my kitchen. Plus, I think I did everything correctly and the cake turned out very dry and not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
My daughter-in-law baked this cake to serve at a wedding shower. It was ravenous. The chocolate icing was just like grandma made back in the 50's (just like it said). Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States