Black Out Cake from the Fifties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Not the quickest cake to make, but when you really feel like baking, this is a moist, rich, choclately and VERY decadent cake! MMMMmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
If you are a chocoholic you'll be in heaven. Again, not good to make if you are short on time, but well worth all of the effort!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I didn't feel comfortable using the raw egg frosting, so I made double the pudding and used it to frost the cake as well. The crumbs stuck well and it was absolutely delicious!! I think it tastes best cold. Reminds me of dobash cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Delicious. Cake texture is moist yet springy. Will try this recipe again. Just coated the cake with melted chocolate, which was simple yet good. Highly recommended for anybody to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Instead of baking 2 cakes I baked 3 small ones and cut the baking time...The only trouble I had was the frosting was a little runny...Guess I needed to cut the liquids too. However it was the best cake I have ever baked...delicious, very rich though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was a HUGE hit at a birthday party recently. My husband's girlfriend wanted a rich, crumb covered, chocolate cake & this more than fit the bill. I would be happy to make this for any special occasion. The birthday girl and a lot of the guests at the party thought I had gone to a fancy bakery to have this made. Too bad, I just keep forgetting to tell them the name of the restaurant! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is an excellent choice for any chocolate lover. I actually used a smaller spring form pan and made two small two layer cakes. It is a very rich, moist cake. While it seems like a complicated recipe, it was actually very simple to make. The end result is quite impressive - especially if you drizzle white chocolate on top and have crumbs only on the sides. My boyfriend was quite impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Cake was excellent! For some reason though the recipe provider aaded a few very un-necessary extra steps. It is totally unnecessary to use a separate bowl to mix just the milk and cocoa powder. Just mix in the cocoa w/ the flour mixture and the milk in with the sugar/shortening mixture. That eliminates one bowl to wash and one extra step which is needless. Also, when making the frosting it is unnecessary to use melted chocolate. Just use Cooa powder. It's easier and again one less step and one less item to clean. Unless you don;t have cocoa powder and already have baking chocolate. It tastes the same and it takes less time and space. Hey, the less steps and cleanign the better, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I bake a lot and have never before given a recipe a bad review when everyone else gave great reviews. However, I can't believe I am reading the same recipe as the other reviewers. First, the cooking time was way too long. I took out the cake at exactly 30 minutes (at 350 degrees measured by my oven thermometer) and it was crunchy and burnt. Check it at about 22 minutes to avoid this problem. Second, slicing the layers in half was a nightmare(with the dental floss method) and created a huge mess. 3) There were WAY too many crumbs. Instead, I would reocommend making maybe two cupcakes--it would save the slicing hassle and reduce waste. 4) The reciepe is inconsistent in that in the ingredients list it lists 3 squares of chocolate for the filling, but in the instructions it asks for 4 squares (hopefully someone will fix this). 5) I went the conservative route and put three squares of chocolate in the filling and it was WAY TOO MUCH. The filling and the cake together were really bitter, as cakes go. I guess if you're a chocoholic who doesn't really like desserts, that might be appealing. I would either REDUCE the chocolate to maybe 1 or 2 squares or INCREASE the sugar to counteract the bitterness (But I'm not sure what effect that would have on the consistency of the filling). I used to have black-out cake from a local bakery and LOVED it. I have been searching for the recipe that would replicate that taste. This deifinitely isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Very rich, but oh so good! Made this for husbands bday and he's requesting again! A huge hit. Just don't cut pieces too large!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States