Black Out Cake from the Fifties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Not the quickest cake to make, but when you really feel like baking, this is a moist, rich, choclately and VERY decadent cake! MMMMmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Very rich, but oh so good! Made this for husbands bday and he's requesting again! A huge hit. Just don't cut pieces too large!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
If you are a chocoholic you'll be in heaven. Again, not good to make if you are short on time, but well worth all of the effort!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I didn't feel comfortable using the raw egg frosting, so I made double the pudding and used it to frost the cake as well. The crumbs stuck well and it was absolutely delicious!! I think it tastes best cold. Reminds me of dobash cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Delicious. Cake texture is moist yet springy. Will try this recipe again. Just coated the cake with melted chocolate, which was simple yet good. Highly recommended for anybody to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was a HUGE hit at a birthday party recently. My husband's girlfriend wanted a rich, crumb covered, chocolate cake & this more than fit the bill. I would be happy to make this for any special occasion. The birthday girl and a lot of the guests at the party thought I had gone to a fancy bakery to have this made. Too bad, I just keep forgetting to tell them the name of the restaurant! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is an excellent choice for any chocolate lover. I actually used a smaller spring form pan and made two small two layer cakes. It is a very rich, moist cake. While it seems like a complicated recipe, it was actually very simple to make. The end result is quite impressive - especially if you drizzle white chocolate on top and have crumbs only on the sides. My boyfriend was quite impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
My daughter-in-law baked this cake to serve at a wedding shower. It was ravenous. The chocolate icing was just like grandma made back in the 50's (just like it said). Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this cake at home because I'm a Chocolate lover... I'm not a cook so I accidentally used regular granulated sugar for the frosting, and it was great, a little crunchy but my family, friends and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This a prettyngood cake. Definately for the chocolate lover, however it is the icing and filling that gives it the flavor the actual cake is very light on chocolatyness. Also, my cake did not turn out moist as described, i kept an eye on it and took it out of the oven just shy of 30 minutes. It was better after chilled over night. I did not find it as labor intensive as other reviewers, I did study the recipe to find steps to omit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States