Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I've done quite a lot of baking in my life, which has included more cakes than I could count. This chocolate cake is one of the best I've ever made. Moist, fragrant,dark and with a rich chocolate flavor. It will become a classic go-to recipe for me. No reason to search for a better chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GOVEGGIE
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is truly a black magic cake. The batter was so thin that i wasn't sure how the cake would turn out. I had used two 9inch round pans. The cakes were perfectly done in 30 mins. I made a delicious frosting with whipping cream, cherry liquer, vanilla essence and powdered sugar. I also filled in lots of canned pitted cherries. I've never decorated a cake before so i think i didnt do justice to how it tasted. Absolutely delicious....tasted like a very authentic German Black Forest cake. i'm just posting a photo since there is none after so many reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
623 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOVEGGIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I have had this recipe since 1979 where I got it off the back of a Hershey cocoa can. It has been a family favorite ever since! I was glad to see it on all recipes with all the different frosting ideas. I use a 7 minute frosting and fold in about 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and let sit just until they barely start to melt. Spread onto cake carefully as to not completely blend in the chocolate chips, then chill. You have crunchy ribbons of chocolate mixed into the frosting. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
For those who had problems with the cake rising, I found this explanation of Dutch process cocoa which can make difference in the results: When it comes to baking, be sure to use the type of cocoa specified in the recipe. Those that are leavened with baking soda require natural (non-Dutch processed) cocoa so that the alkalinity of the baking soda can neutralize the acidic cocoa. Recipes leavened with baking powder require Dutch-process cocoa to maintain the neutral pH of both. I used parchment paper in the bottom of the cake pan and up the sides to lift out the cake (8x8pan). The rest I made as cupcakes. The cupcakes cooked more evenly in less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GFCDN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Ok, I have made this a few times and it is truly one of the best chocolate cakes ever. It is so moist. So moist in fact, you may have a bit of a hard time "working" with it, so I do recommend placing the cooled layers in the freezer for a bit (20 min. or so) before frosting and filling. This will make it much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This cake is so, so moist and tasty. I frosted the cake with yellow frosting (I used food coloring) and then made black sugar bats all over the cake. I have a bat cookie cutter, so I placed it on the cake in several postions, and sprinkled black sugar within the cutter. I used little, round, red candies for the eyes. It looks like black bats flying in front of a full moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I decided to make this into a bundt. I used a silicone bundt pan & baked the cake for 45 min. I also added a 1/4 cup of Kirsch (cherry liqueur) to the batter instead of the vanilla extract. My husband (who is rather picky about cakes) loved this. I'll be making this one again! UPDATE: I have made this one dozens of times since & I've added pretty much every liqueur to it. I've also made this into a two layer w/ seedless raspberry jam in the middle and a buttercream frosting. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I made this cake for a birthday and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. It does require the entire 40 minutes to bake even though the toothpick came out clean after 30 min. It was a little hard to get out of the pan and did fall apart easily, but it was so good that if you are gentle with it, its well worth it. VERY TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Okay, this is definately a "throw together and toss in oven" success! Very easy, very moist, very popular!!! I made coffee butter frosting to go with but, you almost don't need frosting at all. Needed to cook for the whole 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
This cake is so moist and tastes soooooo good. I would recommend anyone and everyone make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States