Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by wonder39
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
By far, the most moist, decadent cake yet. My daughter wanted to bake something special for my father-in-law's birthday and it needed to be rich and chocolatey to appease his sweet tooth. At first I was concerned that with the creamy chocolate frosting we had made it would be too much but instead the cake is beautifully balanced. It is SO moist & flavorful without being too much. We added coconut flakes to mimic Almond Joy candy which is one of his favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Made exactly as written and I will continue to do so several more times. This cake is so moist and smooth flavored, nothing like a box cake at all. Why make a box cake when this is so easy? I used my own butter cream recipe and add peanut butter to it....doesn't get any better than this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is AWESOME. Rich Flavor, Super Moist. This recipe will be a keeper for Chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
(2)Update: made this again but made cupcakes; it made exactly 24. The batter is so thin that I poured the batter in a plastic cup and easily poured the batter. (1)Made this cake for a friend and unfortunately didn't get to try it, but it was a hit. I was told that it is very rich. I kept this simple and baked it in an aluminum pan. It fit a 9x13 pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Moist and chocolate, only change was 1 1/2 cup sugar instead of 2, plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
So good, moist and delicious! My boyfriend went crazy for this cake! I am now deleting all other chocolate cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious!! So easy and super moist! I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I love being begged for this cake at least twice a month, it's so moist, so easy, and turns out perfect everytime!! Last time I made it I added a little molasses, which brought out even a darker taste. All in all this recipe is a must in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trevor Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I used cake flour instead of AP flour for a more tender cake. For those of you who were unsuccessful with this recipe...you need to do the toothpick test for doneness...all ovens are different. I made cupcakes and found for my oven, 20 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make and tastes delicious. It is so moist and chocolatey. When I made cupcakes out of this recipe they did come out a little flat, so just beware of that. This is truly the best chocolate cake recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States