Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Hands down the best cake I have ever had! I made it exactly as written and baked in a 9x13 pan. 40 mins in the oven and it was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori in Detroit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The very best chocolate cake I have ever made. I consider myself a very experienced baker with a treasure chest of old-world, family recipes, as well as some very good chocolate cakes from various cook books, specialty cake books, pastry chefs, etc. Nothing came close to this. I made it for a dinner party and topped the cake with a French mousseline frosting. Unbelievable. I could have eaten it just as well plain. Every single guest said it was the best cake they had ever tasted, and each had a second piece. My spouse, who is not one for sweets, polished it off the next day and said that, by far, this was the best chocolate cake I've made in the 28 years we've been together. Thank you so much for contributing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever tried. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is my new go to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I've just made this today and it's super tasty and moist! I iced it with whipped cream and cherry syrup (fresh cherries+sugar+shimmering) to balance the sweetness of it... Needless to say it was an instant hit! I just can't wait to try different icing combinations with it! I will keep this recipe for sure, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Awesome. MUST MAKE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This cake is my go to recipe without a doubt! It always turns out so moist and rich regardless of whether I make cupcakes, a two layer round, a quarter sheet or a bundt. It is so easy to throw together, too. The only substitution I make is to use vinegar to make sour milk as I don't buy buttermilk because it usually always goes to waste before I can use it all. I made a bundt today with a caramel glaze frosting from this site and my 5 yr old son told me, "this cake is the bomb!" Thanks Marsha for a wonderful, wonderful chocolate cake recipe that I can always count on to come out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This cake is the best, it has been my go-to recipe for any recipe requiring chocolate cake. The taste is rich, the texture is perfect, and it is very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States