Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
The absolute BEST chocolate cake recipe I have ever tasted! With real chocolate buttercream, it's heaven on a plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
WOW! This is delicious and so moist. My new favorite chocolate cake recipe! I did not make any changes and had no problem with the cake rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I think this is my all time fave cake recipe, comes out awesome and delicious everytime, mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
A note to anyone wanting to use 9-inch cake pans--this recipe makes THREE pans, not two. Thankfully I read the reviews, noting the multiple complaints about the pans overflowing when they baked, hence I divided the batter between three 9-inch cake pans lined with parchment paper. They baked beautifully to the top of the pan. Make sure you do the toothpick test to test for doneness--if the cake isn't baked all the way through, the center will collapse. Mine were ready at 27 minutes. I measured carefully, and while the batter was slightly thinner than boxed cake batter, it wasn't overly runny. The cake is moist, the flavor is perfectly chocolate, and if anything it gets better the next day! This will be my go-to cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I replaced buttermilk with a cup of milk and a tablespoon of vinegar. I used an 8 inch round pan, 200 degrees Celsius and it took longer to make which was an hour and half. Cake turned out well I am very satisfied with the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Omg this cake is fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly except for the buttermilk. I didn't have buttermilk so put 1 Tbs white vinegar in 1 cup (minus 1 Tbs) of 1% milk. All the rave reviews on this cake were spot on. I will make this cake over and over. It was so easy to make too. Like another reviewer said, you only need a whisk for this batter. I tried to use my kitchenaid stand mixer and the batter was so thin that it went everywhere. Still, the mess was completely worth it. Amazing cake! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Deadly cake sooooo stinking good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaneth Gray
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! This is the first time that I do a cake from scratch. So I called my mom, the baker in or family, to give me some pointers. So we switched the oil for butter. Then we mixed the eggs, vanilla, sugar and butter together for 6 minutes before adding any dry intrusions. it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I didn't have vegetable oil, so I subbed melted extra virgin coconut oil but otherwise followed the recipe. The top kind of collapsed and looked funny, but it was cooked through and it tastes absolutely delicious. I frosted it with Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States