Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TravelHappy
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This recipe looks exactly like Ina Garten's (the Barefoot Contessa) "Beatty's Chocolate Cake" recipe, which I've made. It's extremely moist and chocolatey--I can only surmise something went wrong for those reviewers who said this didn't have enough chocolate flavor. Baking this at high altitude (Mexico City, 7,350 ft.) I adjusted the recipe a bit as per this website's high altitude baking instructions. Came out perfectly. Paired it with a milk chocolate version of the Barefoot Contessa's chocolate buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelHappy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I have no clue what I did wrong but it overflowed went all over my oven made a horrible smell in my house and just ended up tasting like nasty brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome cake with slight coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Oronogo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Perfect chocolate cake! Everyone loved it. Perfect with chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this cake today and it was one of the best cakes I've ever made! I used espresso instead of regular brewed coffee and my goodness it was delicious ! I made a fluffy white frosting using egg whites and added almond extract for flavoring . The combination of chocolate, almond and espresso is one of my favorite treats! I too like another reviewer was a little worried about how thin the batter was but it baked up beautifully . I had a shaken iced espresso to go with mine , I'm going to have to skip a meal or two after all this good indulgence though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday. I used coconut Palm sugar, just because I don buy white. Also made strong decaf French vanilla coffee and used 1 cup lactaid milk with a tbs. of vinegar instead of regular buttermilk. Very moist and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rashna
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Truly dark moisty and full of magic. A full proof recipe for chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Amazing - I've gotten nothing but compliments. In fact, my Mother-In-Law loved this so much, she is replacing her regular go-to cake recipe with this one. I made mine in an 11x15 baking dish, and used a simple chocolate icing on it. Loved it and am definitely making it again. I would make it right now but I ran out of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe is great! But I prefer the German Chocolate Cake Try it out http://bestofmums.com/healthy-and-tasty/german-chocolate-cake-recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States