Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Amazing - I've gotten nothing but compliments. In fact, my Mother-In-Law loved this so much, she is replacing her regular go-to cake recipe with this one. I made mine in an 11x15 baking dish, and used a simple chocolate icing on it. Loved it and am definitely making it again. I would make it right now but I ran out of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe is great! But I prefer the German Chocolate Cake Try it out http://bestofmums.com/healthy-and-tasty/german-chocolate-cake-recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great chocolate favor, a wonderful replacement for boxed devils food cake! Moist and delicious... you don't even need icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever made. I buttered the pans, lined with parchment paper and then buttered the parchment paper. The cakes slid out perfectly. I topped with Chocolate Ganache for a decadent Valentines Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made this non-dairy with one simple substitution: one tablespoon of cider vinegar (although white vinegar also works) plus enough non-dairy milk (I used rice milk) to add up to a cup of liquid. Then you let it sit for 5 minutes, stir, and use just like the buttermilk. I frosted it with frosting from earth balance, cocoa, and powdered sugar. It was a HUGE hit at my meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I used self rising flour, decreased the amount of baking soda and increased the amount of vanilla. My guests opinion were that the cake was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I bake cakes a few times a week, every week. I've tried so many different chocolate cake recipes and I always come back to this one. It's super easy, moist, great texture, deep dark chocolate flavor and just plain delicious. I highly recommend this recipe. This is so easy to throw this recipe together,it will not take much longer than if you used a cake mix. Seriously.....and you don't even need a mixer. I just use a large bowl and a whisk. The batter will seem super thin but don't worry, that is what it's supposed to be like. It will bake up nice and fluffy. It is a very dark chocolate flavor but it's still sweet, not bitter at all. Don't hesitate about adding coffee, you won't taste a coffee flavor at all. It just intensifies the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is the best chocolate cake I've ever had. Previously my go to was the Hershey's cocoa powder cake. This cake is much less dense and has a richer taste. Kind of reminiscent of a brownie. I used my fave Duncan donuts coffee grounds for the coffee and topped with marshmallow buttercream (that I use in whoopie pies). Also super quick as I throw everything in my stand mixer. Marshmallow cream-1 stick butter unsalted (I use salted) 1 2/3 c confectioners sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 c marshmallow cream (fluff)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalmlyUnaware
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Flawless! I get so many compliments whenever I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
A good cake with a dense, heavy crumb. Moist and had a lot of great chocolate flavor. The texture can hold up to a thicker ganache frosting, but tastes great with a lighter mousse or non-dairy whip frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States