Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used Dark Chocolate Cocoa and it was one step better than awesome!! I figured it was time to stop eating the cake long enough to thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had! Great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
deep rich chocolate, moist, good flavor with the strong coffee added. used raspberries in the middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Sally mulumba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was the first time that I EVER made a cake from scratch! I was really nervous going in, but ultimately was blown away by how easy it was… and how tasty the final product is! Word to the wise-- The batter, before baking, is VERY thin. Don't be alarmed!! It will bake up into a wonderfully fluffy, decadent chocolate cake. This cake is quite airy and fluffy--- if you're looking for a more dense, hearty cake this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa Carey- Ryan
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My first time making it- it took a few minutes longer than recipie states but I also, as I do when I bake- I shift the pans around 1/2 way through the bake time to give it an even bake. The center looks soft and the batter does go in very "wet" and thin but the final texture seems to be very soft. I had no issue with removing from pan. Set on stove top for about 15 then inverted onto wire racks for nearly 2 hours to fully cool. I complimented it with a dark choc. cream cheese butter frosting. I used Hersheys DARK Chocolate cocoa for my choice in both cake and frosting- it turned out great. I forgot to buy new pastry bags for some fancier decorating this time but it was just fine with a thick frosting and spoon back for lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Crazy WICKED good. Exact same recipe as Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate Cake but with buttermilk instead of milk, coffee instead of hot water, and 1 tsp less of vanilla. Either way is good but this is TOPS. Very chocolatey. I couldn't stand it if it had any more chocolate! It got better and more moist each day. Perfect. I used the recipe that goes with the Hersheys cake. My kids went bonkers over it. =) I said it was too much chocolate the first day...but kept going back...by the 3rd day I concluded this was my new addiction and I don't even like chocolate like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Delicious, easy to make, stacks well as a layered cake! Highly recommend lining pans prior to baking for easy removal. This recipe has become my "go to" for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Awesome, did used Chambord as I was out of vanilla.and it is so yummy! And silly me I checked some pointers on another site,that will remain nameless, to make a giant cupcake and put a pan of water under the side the makes the top of the giant cupcake as was suggested. I do not recommend this, the top did not cook! The cake is also very forgiving as I had to put the top back in and was simply able to cut off the top and put it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have tried this cake. It is very moist and delicate. Very difficult to cut slices from it properly as it is getting crumbled.Is there any suggestion to correct it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States