Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yup, this cake is the bomb! Cakes have never been my specialty, but this one is so easy to throw together and is it moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever. I used almond cake filling and buttercream frosting. So yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I really thought I would like this cake, especially with all the good reviews. However, I made it twice, in case I had done something wrong the first time and was severely disappointed both times. I expected it to be sweeter, but instead I found it to be fairly bitter. I modified it the third time, since I didnt want a completely different cake for the bottom layer of my first tier, and it was a bit better, but still not what I had hoped for. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValerieAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is an excellent, super-moist, coffee-ish chocolate cake. I made a simple topping for it by combining honey, Redi-whip, and cinnamon and spooning it over individual portions. Don't overdo the honey or cinnamon; you want to complement the cake's flavor, not overwhelm or mask it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Danger! Danger! This recipe is awesome, the best chocolate cake I've ever made from scratch! I did not have buttermilk, so I looked on a site for the substitute and it said to use 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup water to equal 1 cup of buttermilk (this is the only way I'll make it since I ALWAYS have sour cream on hand and I never have buttermilk!,) this cake is to die for, even without frosting. In fact, I think I prefer it without frosting. I have tried several chocolate cake recipes, but they always turned out dry. This is a perfectly moist cake recipe. I also brewed 1 cup of Gloria Jean's Hazelnut coffee and it was strong enough for me since I am also going to use a coffee frosting to make cake balls :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
LOVE this! I used GF flour and substituted the buttermilk with plain yogurt and it was amazing (topped with coconut oil chocolate frosting and each guest enjoyed 2 slices! 40min cooking time for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Had to substitute for buttermilk ( 1C milk, 1Tbl lemon juice let sit for 10 mins) My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the best scratch chocolate cake recipe I have tried. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Amazing! Incredibly rich & moist. Now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is seriously the best chocolate cake I've ever baked! The flavor has such an intense and rich chocolate flavor it's unbelievable. It's also SO moist! I made the cake with powdered buttermilk because that's all I had, but besides that I made it exactly as stated in the recipe. I made around 32 cupcakes with this recipe and they were done in exactly 30 minutes. I'm definitely keeping this recipe as my go-to chocolate cake recipe because it's honestly the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States